A few shortish items…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s adjectives are: carnal, distinguished, myrmecoid, plump, toponymal, and hendecasyllabic. I think myrmecoid is my favourite.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 272.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I had the Mormons in for a chat.

A single overheard remark:
‘It was a French tube, it was this big…’

An observation:
The bus was noisy and was bouncing around as it sped along. Sitting in one of the side-facing seats towards the front was a young man; he was wearing a dark grey jacket, or perhaps a zip-up cardigan, which had the words, Living for Jesus, Speaking for Jesus in big letters across the back of it. He was gripping and resting his forehead and nose against the upright metal pole attached to the side of his seat and seemed to be managing to sleep despite all the vibration and jolting. I could see his forehead repeatedly bumping against the metal, but his eyes remained closed.

‘Where have you been?… Goodness me, you look taller…’
‘Yes, I’ve just been outside to stretch my legs.’
‘Ah, right…’

Now then, what’s this that has just popped into my comments box? Oh, it seems to be an item of spam from someone called Jerseys cheap:
to think about soaring to new heights. I right there with you.. He stood with his flashlight became clear to me that it wasn’t my sort of lifestyle…
It was a bit over the veterans. The products that they sell are mixes for soups, and bread.
Well, thank you Jerseys cheap I will certainly bear in mind what you have said, and I do hope to hear from you again soon.

‘So, if you found that you suddenly had some spare money, what would you do with it?’
‘I’d give it to some crooks to look after for me.’
‘Ah, you’d put it in a bank then?’
‘Yes, that’s right…’

I’m not sure which is the more annoying in the cafe: the gang of loud youths, going on about how much they’d had to drink the previous night and how good/bad the football was – or the business people in grey suits and ties having an animated meeting, taking it in turns to be professional and assertive. I’m probably more at home with the noisy lads…

A single overheard remark:
‘It’s a stick wicket Tony…’

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in cafe, conversation, cool, Dulltown, existentialism, Grumpiness, Hull.UK., humour, information, misheard, observations, overheard, people, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

