The Kitchen Drawing Book. (No. 2)…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s monolith is the small inconspicuous one.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

WP F The Kitchen Drawing Book (No.2)Ho ho!… Yes, here’s another pair of pages from my kitchen drawing book. Having a kitchen drawing book was a great idea (by the way, in case you were wondering, it’s about 10 inches square); I used to doodle, mess about, and do anything that sprang to mind in it first thing in the morning as I sipped tea and ate from a bowl of sloppy, reasonably healthy, cereal (Weetabix, rice milk, and fruit, if you are interested). I don’t do that anymore, I now have the same breakfast whilst typing this twaddle for my daily blog here in another room (Damn! I just dripped rice milk onto my keyboard!); it’s a pity really, I must start adding stuff to that book again. Oh, apart from drawing, experimenting, and doodling, I do occasionally stick first designs for linocuts and ideas for sculptures to its pages though.
So what is this drawing then Dave?
Well, as you can see it’s a rough copy of a small photo torn from that awful TV listings magazine What’s On TV; I think it was done with charcoal or perhaps a charcoal pencil. These characters are apparently from Coronation Street, a long running and very popular British TV soap opera, which I’ve never watched; I don’t know who these two are (please don’t get in touch and tell me!) and I’m sure my images don’t resemble them at all, but it does look suitably dramatic doesn’t it? Do you like the cartoon-style lines radiating from the top of the chap’s head? I do… Look, he’s really suffering…

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, archeology, art, brain, drama, drawing, food, humour, information, people, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

