The eyes at Christmas……

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s random adjectives are: febrile, stocky, oneiric, squalid, harum-scarum, and chesty.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Well then, Christmas…
It is apparently a religious holiday – I don’t have any religion, so I don’t bother with it – that’s pretty simple, isn’t it? Mind you, it bothers me. I really am trying to not turn this into an unpleasant rant or a tirade dear reader, so I’ll limit myself to just a few brief observations explaining why I find the whole thing so depressing:
The 12 days of Christmas? No, it all kicks off mid-November, and lasts well into the new year; the TV channels become choked with cloying sentimental ‘heartwarming’ Christmas films (five or six a day if you happen to have daytime TV on); town goes crazy with crowds of pushy rude competitive shoppers; buses and cars suddenly start driving through red traffic lights; dazed shoppers get injured by over-stressed bus drivers at the notorious road crossings at the badly designed Hull Interchange; everyone feels obliged to buy presents for everybody else – things that people don’t really need, or actually want – it’s capitalism at full throttle!; it’s all food and booze… And let me tell you this!…
No, really, that’s enough isn’t?…
‘So, Dave, what do you do, if anything, for the festive season?’ Well, just as I send people my postcards, my mail art, I do an annual Christmas card and send them off to whoever had sent me a card the year before. I sometime draw humorous, cheery, but ironic ones, and sometimes I just use one of my drawings as an image, which is what I did this year; I’ve just had a batch of them printed. Here is one:

DSCN4205Yes, I know it’s not very ‘Christmassy’ is it? Perhaps it is actually a bit scary? It’s certainly striking… Still, if people don’t think it is an appropriate celebration of Our Lord’s birth they can always throw it away, or hide it behind a ‘nice’ one. Perhaps one of a snow scene, featuring a loaded stagecoach, with steaming horses, just arrived at an old country inn; it is evening, the sky is darkening, but there is a hint of orange left at the horizon as the sun goes down behind the bare winter trees; welcoming yellow lamplight is glowing inside the building, see the smoke from the log fires curling up from the squat brick chimneys into the frosty air; the rosy-cheeked tubby landlord, stands outside in the slowing descending snowflakes, hands on hips, ready to welcome the travel-weary guests to his hostelry for a hot toddy, a hearty meal, and a warm and comfortable night snug in soft beds… Or something similar…
The drawing is called ‘Big Eyes’; the original is on paper, about 24″ x 18″ and was done in 2010. I copied the eyes from an image taken from the TV of the 1966 film Carry On Screaming. They are those of the lovely Fenella Fielding – so, perhaps not so scary after all…

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, colours, design, drawing, Dulltown, Film, food, Grumpiness, Hull.UK., humour, information, money, observations, photography, religion, seeing, TV, Uncategorized, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The eyes at Christmas……

  1. julie harms says:

    Well happy holidays to you too 🙂

Leave a Reply

