Gosh Dave, that’s brilliant!…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s task is to learn to in some way appreciate golf.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

So, you are a creative sort of person. You do your art, your photography, your writing, or whatever you do, and you get it finished, and then you look at it, and you think, Hm, that’s alright, or even, in the flush of the creative moment, That’s absolutely brilliant!, or possibly, Oh dear, that’s not as good as I thought it would be, I think I might rip it up, delete it, etc.
I suppose, in the dusty back corner of one’s mind, as one slaps the paint about, as one’s finger hesitates for a moment over the camera’s shutter button, as one finds an interesting pair of chords on the guitar, or as one sits hunched over a hot sweaty keyboard, there is a fleeting thought of what people might make of this piece of art upon which you are engaged.. (I remember hearing one young artist say, ‘Oh, I never consider what people will make of my pieces… This is all personal to me…’ Now, there’s confidence for you!)
Of course you never know what your audience’s response will be. Some piece that you have carefully created, that you think is brilliant, when finally exposed to the world seems to have no effect whatever; no-one seems to get it, and people seem determinedly unmoved by it – and conversely some small thing that you just quickly ‘knocked off’, or that you don’t really think much of, they gush about, and tell you how very clever you are… Doh!…
A couple of weeks ago you may recall that I posted one of my old ‘film and darkroom’, black and white, photographs here on my blog; I also put it on my Flickr page. When I was sitting here at my computer looking through images of my old scanned negatives, deciding which picture to share with the world, I came across one which involved some stacks of bricks and humorously placed glove in some builder’s yard. I thought it was a little bit boring and dull and hesitated for a few minutes before deciding to use it. I thought people would think it a mildly amusing picture, and might smile at it for a moment. As of this morning it has had well over a thousand views on Flickr… Gosh, who would have thought that it would be that popular?…
It really is a funny business, this art lark…

The Blog.
My Flickr page.

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, existentialism, Film, humour, information, learning, observations, painting, photography, puzzle, serendipity, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gosh Dave, that’s brilliant!…

  1. memadtwo says:

    Yes it is, and good luck with that golf thing…

Leave a Reply

