A few shortish items…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s expletive is ‘Smash man Geordie!’ – a 19th c. Durham miner’s oath. No, I don’t know what it means either, but it does sound good…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 274.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I became engrossed in trying to spot myself on Google Earth.

A single overheard remark:
‘I’m no good at ill…’

In my experience people who run businesses are often mean-spirited, penny-pinching, a bit crooked, guarded, suspicious of people, and pretty cold to be around, whereas the people who work for them, in their boring miserable underpaid jobs, are often surprisingly kind and warmhearted.

I’m thinking of changing my name to Terry Kottarami.

I once knew a girl who wore her mirror out looking in it.

Hello! What’s this in my comments box? It’s a piece of spam from someone called wholesale jerseys:
‘want to drive the golf ball hard with a solid nfl shop powerful swing, you merchant vessels carrying provisions into Britain, especially those coming across the Atlantic, became targets of the ball hawk. There are plenty of DTs who will be avail at the third pick of ending it on the anniversary of when I started it, or finishing at a nice round some one or something out therecontrolling the world’s affairs? Do they decide who will move forward,’
Thank you for contacting me wholesale jerseys, it is very nice hearing from you again. I particularly liked your reference to avail at the third pick of ending.

The other day, sitting on the bus, I happened, for some reason, to be thinking about how big the circumference of a circle is, and what a surprisingly simple equation it is to find it – it’s just the diameter multiplied by pi. Then I moved on to think about the circumference of an ellipse – ellipses are quite like circles really – surely I must have learned that at school, but I just couldn’t remember how to do it – I wondered if my memory was crumbling away…
I just looked it up online – bloody hell! I don’t feel so worried about it now; who’d have thought it would be so hard!… Click Here.

I see that in the town centre they are advertising ‘luxury apartments to let’. I’d be interested to know what passes for ‘luxurious’ here in Dulltown…

A single overheard remark:
‘Robert’s scared of toenails…’

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, conversation, cool, Dulltown, existentialism, expletives, Hull.UK., humour, information, jobs, learning, mind, misheard, observations, overheard, people, serendipity, surrealism, thinking, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

