What’s this tied to the old spoon?…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s unusual pencil sharpener is the one shaped like Michelangelo’s David…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Here’s an old post rehashed from my days of blogging on that funny old thing Myspace:

‘I say Professor, it’s good to be out of the office doing some real archaeological work again.’
‘Damn and blast!… I wish one was allowed to smoke down here!… What was that Brownlow? Where are you?… Oh yes, indeed, and remember not many people have been granted the privilege of excavating in the basement of the Vatican you know.’
‘I know sir, we are very lucky to be able…’
‘Did you bring any of those nice wine gums with you today? Grab a finds tray and bring it down to me my dear chap, I’m here, in what we think is the 12th century cooking area.’
‘No, I’m sorry Professor, no wine gums today… Have you found something interesting?’
‘How about some Extra Strong Mints?… Yes, I have found something.’
‘No sir, I’m afraid I didn’t bring any sweets today…’
‘Damn it man! You are becoming most unreliable! Where the hell are you? Get down here with that tray, now!…’
‘I thought that you were trying to lose a bit of weight, so I…’
‘Ah, there you are, and don’t step on my bloody hat!… Look, here, what do you make of this?…’
‘Well sir, it looks to me like a large ornate spoon of some sort, possibly for use at banquets… Oh, and I see it has a small piece of parchment fastened to it with a piece of thin twine.’
‘Yes, but I don’t think it’s made of parchment Brownlow, it looks more like a slip of… Damn! The thing has fallen off, the twine has crumbled to dust in my hand!…’
‘Oh dear!…’
‘No matter, no matter, you’ll just have catalogue it separately from the spoon itself.’
‘So what shall I put it down as Professor?’
‘Oh, just put something like, paper papal table ladle label.’
‘A paper papal table ladle label?’
‘Yes man! Must I say it again?…’
‘No sir, sorry… I’ll get my notebook and pen…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in archeology, conversation, drama, Grumpiness, history, humour, information, learning, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

