Iridescence in the gutter…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s existential angst is centred around the word ‘fruiterer’.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN4035Is this picture of mine boring or not?… Perhaps it is a bit too abstract for you?… Perhaps a poor substitute for a nice snap of a couple of fluffy big-eyed grumpy-looking kittens, or a basket full of bumbling floppy-limbed puppies?…
But, I do like a bit of iridescence now and again… Iridescence – that’s a great word isn’t it? Not being very good at spelling, I nipped off to consult Mr Google on it; I was pondering on how many ‘r’s it might have in it… I’ve never been good at remembering those single and double letters words – I know that irreplaceable has two ‘r’s in it, so I thought that, maybe… Someone once told me that only boring people can spell properly… Well, it turns out that it only has the one ‘r’ – but, I also learned in passing, from Mr Google, that another word for iridescence is ‘goniochromism’ – Goodness me, what a mouthful!…
Apparently iridescence is caused when light bashes into a very thin transparent layer, such as a film of oil on water – and diffraction occurs, splitting the wavelengths of light up and chucking colours of the spectrum in all directions…
What do you think of the composition? Lots of verticality going on isn’t there? I like the way the yellowish brown of the knobbly paving on the left clashes unpleasantly with the perkier yellow of the road markings on the right… Hm…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, Film, humour, information, learning, observations, photography, physics, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, Uncategorized, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment