Can’t stop spattering…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s existential angst is centred around the sound of the word buzzard.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Spatter 16... (28 x 21)Yes, I just can’t stop spattering! This is Spatter Painting No. 16; it is on medium-thick Bockingford watercolour paper and is about 28″ x 21″ in size.
Are these any good, or am I just wasting my time?
I suppose all artists say that occasionally – and if they don’t, they should. You should always question what you are doing, whatever it is. I recall seeing something written on the inside of a toilet door several years ago, it was in an art college somewhere, it was written in small letters and was at about eye level if you were sitting down. It just said, Think what you are doing… Perhaps a visiting Zen Master wrote it?
Anyway, these spatters do look more impressive in real life rather than in these photographs; they are a lot bigger of course, and I still have trouble getting the paper to look white in the photos – some of the colours I use are fluorescent and that seems to upset the camera’s white balance – on this one the paper seems to have acquired brownish tinge.
I think I’m addicted to these paintings because they are such fun to do. They are a combination of a minute or two’s happy carefree splashing bright colours about, a period of drying, and then some hours of careful slow pen work with bad US daytime TV movies droning on in the background…
This is number 16 in the series from a few weeks ago; I am currently working on No. 26. They are changing slowly, and I think they are getting ‘better’, if one can use that word. It’s hard to say why a particular one is ‘better’ than any other one.
Do you think they have a slight Japanese feel to them? I do, perhaps they would appeal to people there?
I’d like to be big in Japan… rather than small in Dulltown…

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, Dulltown, Hull.UK., humour, information, learning, mind, observations, painting, photography, seeing, serendipity, style, surrealism, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Can’t stop spattering…

  1. I do splatters and then ink them
    Or take washable markers and draw shapes I see in the splatter and then paint them with water and a brush into the scene
    People always like them before I ink them, big colourful messes
    And I tend to hate abstract act although I tend to it
    But all art is art (arguably).

    • Dave Whatt says:

      ‘All art is art’ I like that.
      Abstract art is funny, isn’t it? You’d expect it to be pretty uniform across the board, but for me W Kandinsky is wonderful, and J Pollock is rather boring…
      Thank you for the sudden rash of ‘likes’ and comments AC!…

Leave a Reply

