I’m not going in there – there’s too much irony!…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s colours are: brownie brown, greenish green, a sort of pinky pink, something like a blueish blue, and Burgundy yellow.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

No, but you can’t help but notice architecture can you?…
I think that for a long long time people have put up buildings that try to give the impression that they are not actually going to fall down; buildings that make you feel comfortable, buildings that you wouldn’t mind standing close to, or actually going into.
Not any more. Architects have recently decided to become ‘playful’ and ‘ironic’, asking us to trust in their cheeky designs and in their modern materials.
Me, maybe I’m a bit old-style, but I feel uneasy walking up a staircase where you can clearly view the ten metre drop between the treads as you ascend; oh, and sometimes the treads, and often the floors when you get up there, are made of glass. Do you mind walking on pieces of glass? Glass doesn’t break does it? No Dave, it doesn’t – this is modern high-tech glass!…
Skyscrapers are very tall, but I think I’d feel relatively safe inside one; they seem to be the right shape for not falling down, usually thicker at the bottom and thinner at the top… oh, except for that one in Manchester that I saw a few weeks ago. (Building) Whoa!…
Ah, and what about those nasty galvanised steel balconies that lots of apartment blocks have these days, the ones which are not visually supported by traditional brackets, but look as if they are glued straight onto the wall – I don’t think I’d like to drink my morning cup of tea sitting out on one of those…
I was recently thinking about doorways and other openings, and how one might support the weight of the wall above. Those ancient Greeks did it rather well – a couple of pillars and a beam across the top; you know where you are with a Greek-style doorway – they do look pretty stable don’t they? This one is in Beverley, East Yorkshire.

DSCN4216Here below, is another entrance in Beverley. See how the architects have made it look as if it is composed of separate stone cubes. I wonder what is holding the cubes up across the tops of the openings? Glue?… No, no… I know there will be hulking great steel beams inside there, and no, it’s not going to fall down, but it doesn’t show its structure, and it doesn’t make us feel easy with it. Or, am I being a bit over sensitive about all this?

DSCN4215I took all these photos on a short walk around Beverley a few weeks ago. Here are a couple more showing openings which for me look almost comical, they also look cheap. In the old days, doors and windows in brick walls, whether round-topped or flat-topped, would have a fan of self-supporting bricks, voussoirs to give a sense of natural stability. How about this garage opening below, with a row of vertically placed bricks seemingly supported on, nothing? It makes me feel like I should run up and quickly shove a thick wooden stick under the middle to stop it sagging…

DSCN4214A few yards away I came across this similar construction; it made me burst out laughing. If I lived there, every time I went in or out I’d be wondering what the hell was holding all those bloody heavy bricks up?… Ho ho!…

DSCN4209

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in architecture, art, brain, colours, design, existentialism, fashion, history, humour, information, irony, observations, physics, seeing, serendipity, style, surrealism, thinking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m not going in there – there’s too much irony!…

  1. Arch Walkley says:

    Never were truer words said, old chap!

Leave a Reply

