Portrait of a local couple…

But first…
Dulltown Europe: Today’s colours are: light green, mid green, dark green, light green, mid green, dark green, vermilion, light green, mid green, and dark green.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

WP F R GiftHere’s a portrait of a local couple.
It was a drab winter’s day in Dulltown, some time ago, possibly in the 1980s or 1990s. I said, ‘Come on you two, stand in front of this rickety overgrown fence and I’ll take a quick snapshot…’
I like the way they happen to have their arms and hands arranged, and the way he is looking straight at the camera being pretty cool, and she looks like she might be thinking, I’m bloody cold, and I want to go home, and sit by the fire, and drink tea, and eat hot buttered toast…
It’s not too bad a picture is it? It could even be an album cover, a little in the style of the famous Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan one that was featured in that strange film Vanilla Sky, but I do wish that I’d managed to get their feet in shot. Oh, and the reason this isn’t as crisp and sharp as I would have liked is because the negative is long lost; this is a scan of the single remaining print.

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in archeology, art, colours, Dulltown, Film, green, history, Hull.UK., information, people, photography, seeing, serendipity, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Portrait of a local couple…

  1. Fantastic shot, Dave! Lovely.

  2. Michael says:

    That is Roland Gift, and I claim my five pounds.

Leave a Reply

