A few short but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s sewer rat is the one with the humorous glint in his eye.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 280.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I had blues before sunrise. (BBS)

A single overheard remark:
‘I always have bread with my pot noodles.’

An observation:
A couple of young students newly arrived here from China stopped me in the street and asked where they could get a bus to the university. I walked them through the shopping centre and pointed them to the bus station. The young man remarked how very clean the air was here in Dulltown… Gosh…

America – you must feel really frustrated – no matter how hard you try, we are always six hours ahead of you.

An observation:
Oh, that was odd! What a strange coincidence. A small dog was scratching itself with its hind leg, as they do, in the street and its action exactly corresponded in duration and frequency with the noise produced by a chap on a nearby building site drilling a hole with a noisy hammer drill. I don’t think the dog was deliberately synchronising with the sound though…

I’m thinking of having a combined conservatory and pergola built in my garden – I’m going to call it my pergatory.

A single overhear remark:
‘So what it is you are sniffing at now!…’

I really getting fed up with being stylish. I think I’ll grow a Hitler moustache, have a 1970s ‘mullet’ haircut, and buy one of those grey knitted cardigans with wolves on. (M)

‘So what is the main difference, visually, between Victorian architecture and more modern stuff?’
‘Well the old stuff, having plenty of detail on its surfaces, still looks good even when it’s old and dirty, whereas the new stuff, even with just a small amount of muck on it, gets to look grubby and nasty very quickly…’

Paris in the late 19th c.:
‘No, no, no!… It’s no good!… We can’t have a Monet and a Manet both painting here – it will cause no end of confusion! One of you will have to leave!… Come on lads, be reasonable, let’s toss a coin to decide which one of you buggers off…’

A single overheard remark:
‘Of course, it was the television that made it so heavy…’

 

 

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in architecture, art, blues, brain, conversation, cool, Dulltown, existentialism, history, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, overheard, painting, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A few short but pithy items…

Leave a Reply

