I say… That’s a very nice gold chain you have there…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s orangutan is the one with short arms, spectacles, and rather delicate artistic hands.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

The other day I was wandering around town, I was thinking of going to look at some caulking applicators, when I spotted a man coming towards me up the pavement. He was short and stocky, and was wearing dark working clothes: heavy well-worn paint spattered trousers with built-in knee pads and plenty of side pockets, stout boots, and a soiled black t-shirt that once had some sort of an emblem printed on it.
What attracted my eye was the thick chunky gold chain around his neck; it was hanging down onto his t-shirt and it was bouncing up and down slightly as he walked; the flashing yellow of the metal facets stood out very well against the grubby fabric.
Should I be surprised by this combination of attire? I don’t know, but if I was the kind of person who sported a gold neck chain I think I’d only have it on with my best ‘going out’ clothes in an evening, and generally not wear it to work. Still, he can of course, do as he likes, and good for him! After all, it made me notice him…
Perhaps he is saying (not literally of course), ‘Hey you! Don’t you be looking down on me just because I do manual work! Look here! See this I’ve got round my neck? Do you know how much these fucking things cost?…’
But no, really, this chap didn’t look particularly aggressive, I just threw that in to add a bit of cheap drama to this piece. Mind you, a lots of blokes who like to wear such jewellery do seem to have a mean, ‘don’t you mess with me Matey!’, look about them. Perhaps, other than showing off their great wealth, another reason for having such an expensive thing blatantly on public display is that really they want someone to have a go at stealing it – so that a good and satisfying fist fight could ensue, with them valiantly beating off hoards of would-be chain thieves, perhaps in the manner of Steven Seagal or Jean Paul Van Damme?…
Anyway, just to be on the safe side, I didn’t stare too long at him…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, Dulltown, existentialism, expletives, fashion, Hull.UK., humour, information, money, observations, people, serendipity, style, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

