Mail Art Postcard. No. 4444…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s elephant in the room is the one standing and turning, and admiring his tusks in the cheval mirror over by the window.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

WP F 4444Here is another of my mail art postcards dear reader – a simple collage on fluorescent card using snippets from that awful, but very popular, British TV listings magazine What’s On TV.
If the magazine is so awful Dave, why do you buy it?…
Well, in order to separate the wheat from the considerable amount of chaff; one does need to know what is scheduled on the TV, doesn’t one? I find that the listings are reasonably accurate, but I don’t ever read the articles and features which make up the bulk of the pages.
Now here’s a surprising thing… When a very good friend of mine (I’ve known her for years) visits me, I always show her into the living room, and then I go off and make her a cup of tea, and possibly some hot buttered toast; when I come back with the T & T I invariably find that she has picked up my copy of What’s On TV and is glued to it, avidly reading all the interviews with celebs and soap stars, and poring over the bright detailed pictures of the poor disfigured and maimed people awaiting their restorative, but exploitative TV surgery. I can’t understand how she can do this; she is a highly intelligent and witty person, but she is drawn like a moth to a magnet towards this anodyne tawdry tosh… Ah, people eh?…
Anyway, back to the card:
It’s another of my ‘compare and contrast’ cards. I’m not sure who the two in the left-hand picture are, but I’m pretty sure that on the right that’s Sir Anthony Hopkins and, er what’s her name? Ah, of course, Emma Thomson… That photo must be from that very popular 1993 film The Remains of the Script
Style: I just noticed how very American the picture on the left is, and how very British the one on the right is…
Still, I think you get the idea of this clever juxtaposition… Damn, I swore that I’d never use that pretentious word juxtaposition ever again… Bah!…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, British film, Film, humour, information, Mail Art, postcards, puzzle, serendipity, sex, style, surrealism, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mail Art Postcard. No. 4444…

  1. julie harms says:

    Haha, what a contrast ! I don’t think ‘Great Britain’ looks so dull, though…

Leave a Reply

