Red and white, red and white…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s fruit is the lone downy-cheeked peach sitting on the window sill admiring her reflection in the evening light.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN4049This is rubbish…
Yes, it is.
One day I was walking back from town, when out of the corner of my eye, I noticed these two items of rubbish lying at the edge of the pavement. I walked on a few paces, and as I did I wondered why I felt as if I had just missed something. What was it? I turned and went back…
It was of course the red and the white.
How very odd that the red and white of the discarded cigarette packet, and the red and white of the broken plate, matched perfectly. The cigarette packet, at first glance, looked like it could even have been a piece of pot broken off the plate.
Was this rubbish worth a photograph?
I suppose if I were pushing the idea, I could mention the relationship between the painted flowers on the plate and the nearby real leaves, both green and brown.
No, I don’t think it is interesting enough… but then again, digital photos don’t cost anything do they?… Click!…
Ah yes, and because we are looking straight down on this composition, when the picture is viewed later it might appear as if the items are suspended on a vertical surface, possibly floating in the air; it often takes a moment to sort out what you are looking at when a picture is taken looking straight downwards; when there are no perspective clues one assumes that surfaces are most probably vertical.
Oh, look, I’ve just noticed the cigarette packet is serendipitously lying nicely parallel to the line of the paving stone, it is almost as if there is ‘organisation’ and even ‘meaning’ here…
Phew!…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, colours, dreaming, observations, photography, seeing, serendipity, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Red and white, red and white…

  1. julie harms says:

    I like interpreting the world through random discoveries. Like you did for this picture. I believe all these strange ‘occurences’ have a meaning somehow. I was walking up to the contemporary art museum in Edinburgh when visiting in January, I was feeling a little nervous for some reason, and when I looked up at the building, above the massive entrance, a bold ‘contemporary’ blue neon sign said : Everything is going to be alright.
    The other day I spotted a small wooden star on the ground, right out my front gate…So I reached for it… About your discovery, I wonder if you were by any chance wearing blue….:)

Leave a Reply

