Stella likes the ’50s coat…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s interesting sound is that of the Dulltown Police doing a drugs bust a few doors down the street.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA‘RMS Queen Mary Passing Cowes’ (1991) Charcoal and pencil on paper, about 30″ x 22″.

‘Hello?… Who’s that?… Hang on a minute the front door’s still locked…’
‘Have you heard the good news?’
‘Eh? What good news? Who is that?’
‘The good news… That Our Lord Jesus Christ is alive and…’
‘Oh, it’s you Stella! What’s all this Jesus stuff?’
‘Just a touch of whimsy David. Get that kettle on, I’m parched!’
‘Hm, do come in my dear, oh, that’s… er, an interesting hat, you are wearing.’
‘Thank you David, nice bright colours, aren’t they? What biscuits do you have to tempt me with today?’
‘Well, I tried to get some ‘Sports’ biscuits, but I…’
‘Sports biscuits?’
‘Yes, those pale oblong ones with the little stick figures on them, doing various sports… running and…’
‘I know them, they are very boring biscuits David… Why are you showing me this drawing? I’ve seen it before.’
‘Of course you have, it’s been hanging over the fireplace in my living room for the past five years… But I did get a packet of Chocolate Digestives.’
‘Dark chocolate?’
‘Yes.’
‘Good… It’s just a copy in charcoal of a bright tinted 1950s postcard isn’t it?’
‘Not just a copy Stella – here’s you mug of tea, please drink it quietly with no slurping…’
‘You are not usually very good at figure drawing, are you?’
‘Hm, no, I must admit, I am not. Have a chocolate digestive or two.’
‘Hm… But I do like those people you have looking over the balcony, especially the snogging couple.’
‘Thank you Stella, it’s not often that you…’
‘He’s got a very stylish haircut, and that coat she’s wearing is definitely 1950s – I can almost feel its creamy texture… the chap has his hands inside it, what’s he up to?’
‘Have a couple more biscuits – you are doing well…’
‘Your cars aren’t up to much though are they? How could you get the people and the ship so right, when your cars are so bad David? They look like cardboard cut-outs.’
‘Don’t call me ‘David’ Stella, you know everyone calls me ‘Dave’… What do you think of my clouds?’
‘They are ‘deliberately bad’, and ‘interesting’… More tea please, David…’
‘Hm!…’

(Sports biscuits)

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, conversation, drawing, Dulltown, fashion, food, history, humour, information, postcards, religion, style, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stella likes the ’50s coat…

Leave a Reply

