The Splendid Moth-Ball Storer…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s heraldic term is ‘imbrued’ – bloodied, stained with blood.
Some of the charges on my escutcheon used to be imbrued, but I thought it looked a bit unpleasant so I had them cleaned up.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

It’s a slim drab red hardback with a cream-coloured spine, another of my cheap junk shop books; it’s the 1954 Gadgets Annual; the book itself is not very interesting to look at, however here’s a picture of the title page:

DSCN3900Ah, 1954, a time not so long after Britain was in the grip of World War Two, it was still a time of ‘make do and mend‘ when things were looked after and repaired rather than quickly thrown away and replaced as they are now. The Gadgets Magazine encouraged this attitude and its readers sent in designs for interesting things one could make to improve life in the home and the garden.
Here are some items picked at random from these yellowing pages: A Waterproof Tool-Holder, Handy Files From Cardboard boxes, Home-Made Brass Cleaner, A Magnetic Shaver’s Shelf, Odd Uses For Aspirins, A Gadget For Chalking Linen, etc…

WP DSCN4111‘Albert… Albert!…’
‘Yes dear?’
‘Why are all my dresses, blouses, and best coats lying on the bed?’
‘Well Madge, I just need to take the coat-hangers down to the shed and…’
‘To the shed Albert?’
‘Yes, I’m drilling some holes in them so that…’
‘Have you been reading that silly magazine of yours again?’
‘It’s not a silly magazine Madge dear, we can get rid of all moths, and also avoid ’embarrassing circumstances’ in the future when we…’
‘Albert.’
‘Yes dear?’
‘We don’t have, and we never have had, moths!…’
‘No, but if we ever did, these clever coat-hangers would…’
‘Have you started your silly drilling yet?’
‘No.’
‘Good… I’m going to make a pot of tea, and some toast, when I come back I expect to see all my things neatly put away again.’
‘Toast with butter?’
‘Yes Albert…’
‘Mm…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in archeology, books, conversation, drama, heraldry, history, humour, information, serendipity, surrealism, war, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Splendid Moth-Ball Storer…

  1. Oh I grinned like a loon when I read that conversation! And I love old junk shop books too, but I have never found one as interesting as this seems to be! 😀

Leave a Reply

