Queen Mary – the postcard…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s existential angst is centred around the word, and the idea of, dandruff.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN4340
‘Hang on Dave, we’ve seen this drawing before… and recently too!…’
Well, yes, I know, but as I reminded my friend Stella a couple of weeks ago, (click) it has been mounted and framed and hanging over the fireplace on my living room wall for a few years – and, as I have recently discovered the original 1950s postcard that inspired it, I thought that it might be a good idea to display the original image next to my drawing.
I mentioned this to Stella, but she didn’t think it was a very good idea. She wouldn’t say why – I got the feeling that she thought that it would be ‘giving the game away’, as if it would somehow devalue the drawing. Hm…
Anyway, I popped out yesterday afternoon and bought a cheap black frame from Poundstretcher to put it in. Obviously Poundstretcher don’t sell frames the shape and size of the postcard, so I got one that could be tinkered with and adapted. It was a frame of normal rectangular proportions, but which needed cutting down in height to suit the rather strange CinemaScope proportion of the card. The mitred corners weren’t too difficult; mine were nearly as good as the original Chinese factory ones, but the trickier part was cutting the glass down to size. Did you know that fresh newly made glass is very easy to cut, but old glass is often a real bugger? When one scores a really good straight line with one’s glass cutter on old glass, and one is confident that it is going to break cleanly along it, you are deluding yourself. The old glass goes along with you at first and half-heartedly follows your line for a couple of inches and then it goes off on its own merry way following some invisible flaw in the material instead. Doh!…
This is just what it did, but I was lucky in that the split went into the waste area rather than into the bit I needed. A little careful nibbling with a pair of pliers and a rub with some abrasive paper and the glass (with its lumpy edge) dropped into the newly shaped frame very nicely. It was a pleasant hour’s work.
But I digress… Here is a close up of the postcard: Nice isn’t it? You can compare it with my drawing if you like.

DSCN4342

 

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in archeology, art, existentialism, history, humour, information, photography, postcards, style, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Queen Mary – the postcard…

  1. Oh I love the postcard, but your drawing of it is brilliant! I think it looks better in black and white – especially the hugging people! Although on the postcard it looks like she is on her own and rifling through her handbag for a bit of chocolate 😀 And is that the Waverly?

Leave a Reply

