Decalcomania in the morning…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s Sir Arthur Conan Doyle quotation is from The Red-Headed League:
I placed my revolver, cocked, upon the top of the wooden case behind which I crouched.  Holmes shot the slide across the front of his lantern and left us in pitch darkness – such an absolute darkness as I never before have experienced. The smell of hot metal remained to assure us that the light was still there, ready to flash out at a moment’s notice… There was something depressing and subduing in the sudden gloom, and in the cold dank air of the vault.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGood morning. Yes, it seems ages since I showed you one of my decalcomania monoprints. This one, in black acrylic paint and pencil, on white drawing paper, about 16″ x 12″, is from 2010 – gosh doesn’t time fly? If you are now wondering dear reader, what the hell decalcomania is, you could have a look at an earlier post of mine on the subject which explains a little bit about this form of printmaking, and also tells you how to create some of these interesting and eye-catching images yourself – just click here.

‘So Dave, what is this one all about?’
Well, it’s not about anything, I suppose you could say that it’s ‘abstract’, but it doesn’t really look very ‘abstract’ does it? It looks like a thing – a thing with, er, string wrapped round it. Yes, that’s what it is – it’s a thing, with string wrapped around it. I think it looks like a massive thing seen from a great distance, rather than a small thing seen close up. Yes, I reckon it must be about the size of a young mountain, or a very large block of flats in the former East Germany… Yes, I am babbling… Oh, I know what it is! Of course, it’s not abstract, nor is it figurative, it’s surrealism!… Phew!…
If I were an arty and pretentious sort of person, I might go a bit poetic on you and give it the title, Sunset Clouds Bound and Saved… but as I am not, I won’t….

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, drama, humour, information, instruction, learning, prints, puzzle, reading, serendipity, surrealism, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Decalcomania in the morning…

  1. Here, I’ll do it for you, since I’m feeling very arty farty today. “Sunset Among The Rushes” as its quite obviously a landscape, viewed through tall grasses as if someone is lying down. Quite possibly a drunkard, attempting to make his way home (top centre, slightly left) after a very enthusiastic St Paddy’s Day. 😀

Leave a Reply

