A few smallish items…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s 17th c. English expletive is ‘Cat’s nouns!…’ – an obvious corruption of ‘God’s wounds’ – it’s a nice one though isn’t it? I might even try out ‘Cat’s verbs!’ today if a suitable occasion arises.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 287.
I’m sorry I’m late, but someone upset my apple cart.

A single overheard remark:
‘You need to pop your wheel Terry…’

I’m not very good with Shakespeare. I have trouble understanding what they are going on about – it’s the language – it sounds great, but I just can’t get a grip on it. Still, the other night on the TV there was a 2010 film version of The Tempest and I gave it a try.
It kicked off with a storm scene, as I suppose it would, with the actors shouting and screaming to each other over a rather loud howling gale – I stood no chance of getting anything intelligible out of that, but I hung on to the rigging until the storm died down. The scene then changed, and two women (in the dark) started quietly whispering and muttering dialogue to each other… No, no, that’s it! That’s enough! I suppose it may have become clearer later on, but by then I couldn’t really be bothered to stick with it… Sorry Bill; I’m sure your play is very good, but…

A couple of days ago I saw a truck with ‘Edgar Concrete’ written on the front – sounds like a 1950s British teenage pop star. (E.C.)

Hull – UK City of Culture 2017:
Welcome to Hull everyone! We are a people with a delicate mix of low self-esteem and aggression, and we are very very proud of our city… but we don’t quite know why…

Pronunciation:
Oh I do like it when there’s an interview on TV and the interviewee and the interviewer pronounce the name of the subject they are discussing differently – for example, ‘nuclear’ and ‘nuke-yiller’, and ‘harassment’ and ‘harassment’. You can feel the tension building between them every time the word is used – each wondering if they should change their pronunciation to that of the other. You’d think that they might have agreed on something as simple as that before the thing went live.

Oh, what a sad sight, a party of young children being taken round an art gallery. No, no, that’s an excellent thing for them! But I recently noticed such a group being taken around a big city gallery; the teacher had the kids standing in front of a piece of current, bland, pretentious, obscure, and very dull art. The kids looked puzzled and bit bored, but the teacher was earnestly explaining to them how ‘interesting’ and ‘clever’ it was, even if it didn’t look it, and how they should try to understand it, be impressed by it, and possibly even like it… Oh, what a sad sight…

Oh, your webbing! I thought that you said ‘wedding’ – no wonder I was confused…

A single overheard remark:
‘…and there was human wrestling…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, conversation, cool, drama, Dulltown, expletives, Film, history, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, overheard, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, theatre, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A few smallish items…

  1. ….and there’s yours truly who has just bought a metre of Muslim, instead of muslin. *ahem*

Leave a Reply

