Stella and the eye-catching gammadion…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s existential angst is centred around the sound of that very unpleasant word, bolus.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA‘Marks’ 1990. Charcoal and pencil on paper, about 30″ x 22″.

‘Good morning Stella my dear, and what a fine spring morning it is. The birds are singing, the bees are buzzing, and…’
‘I can’t hear any bees, and stop being so bloody cheery!’
‘Nice boots Stella!’
‘Huh?’
‘Yellow Doc Martens – very jolly!’
‘Shut up you oaf, and get the kettle on, I need caffeine in the form of a large mug of Taylors of Harrogate Yorkshire Tea.’
‘I have proper Scottish shortbread to dunk, if you might like to…’
‘What the hell’s this David?’
‘Eh?… Oh, it’s another of my old drawings.’
‘Are you getting that tea? Oh right, thank you. Shortbread eh? Mm…’
‘It’s from 1990, back when I was…’
‘It’s a bit of a mess, isn’t it David?’
‘Is it Stella?’
‘Yes, it looks like you didn’t know what to do that day, and you just started copying labels and things out of newspapers and magazines.’
‘How very astute you are my dear.’
‘Yes I am… So… There it is… in the middle – you can’t really miss it can you?’
‘The swastika?’
‘Of course the bloody swastika! I’ll bet that upset a few people – I mean, who would want a drawing with a sodding swastika in the middle of it on their living room wall? No wonder nobody bought it.’
‘Another shortbread my dear?’
‘Don’t mind if I do… Of course, I do see where you are coming from David.’
‘Do you Stella?’
‘Yes, it’s from the Sanskrit.’
‘Oh?…’
‘Svastika, meaning good fortune, or well-being, the emblem exists in most ancient cultures, what a pity those Nazi slugs pinched it and spoiled it for us all…’
‘Indeed my dear.’
‘I see you have Jupiter and Saturn in there too, oh, and a union jack in the form of a palm tree…’
‘Yes, I…’
‘It obviously symbolises the British Empire invading foreign lands, taking them over, and exploiting the poor bloody inhabitants.’
‘Does it?’
‘Of course. My, these shortbreads are nice, they do dunk well! More tea please!’
‘Right ho…’
‘And what are those three-dimensional geometrical shapes doing there, at the bottom of the picture?’
‘I don’t really know Stella, I just needed to…’
‘Oh… But they do seem to fit in… for some reason.’
‘I think so… Here’s your tea, you great fat gannet…’
‘Thank you David… You are an excellent host…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, conversation, design, drawing, existentialism, Grumpiness, history, humour, information, religion, seeing, style, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stella and the eye-catching gammadion…

  1. Its very nice….kind of a comment on the conflict of society. Capitalism – v – Spiritualism? Of course, I have absolutely no idea, but bolus is a very horrible thing – why would anyone even make a word for that anyway? “Excuse me, I’ll just swallow this bolus before I make a decision”. 😀

  2. shammy says:

    I wish I could leave a comment but it won’t let me.

Leave a Reply

