Mail Art Postcard No. 4468…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s fine 17th c. English expletive is Udslidikins! ‘Ud’s’ is obviously a corruption of ‘God’s’, and ‘ikins’ is a diminutive, but I’m not sure about the middle bit, the ‘slid’; perhaps it is ‘lids’, eyelids. So what we might be expleting here is, God’s little eyelids! I might try to slip that into my conversation today...
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

WP F 4468Well, yes… here’s another of my mail art postcards featuring a single advertisement snipped from that cheapskate British TV listings magazine What’s On TV.
This time I didn’t need to do anything to the cutting, no stuck-on eyes, no pithy and amusing bits of text, no encroaching reptiles or cute fluffy animals, no cheeky juxtapositions – so here it is, just as it appeared on the page.
All these years I have been desperately wanting to forget expensive bulky binoculars, my urge to zoom-in has never been satisfied, and I have always thought that it would be really great if my head could follow the action. Isn’t the red ‘X’ crossing out those binoculars nice?
I love the expression on her face; see how she smiles. I wonder what she is watching? I’ll bet it’s tennis at Wimbledon, she looks a bright clean-limbed enthusiastic healthy sporty type of girl. Me, if I tried following a tennis match wearing those, with all that blurring due to the constant to and fro, I’d be feeling queasy in seconds… Still, each to their own…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, cool, expletives, information, Mail Art, postcards, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, TV, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mail Art Postcard No. 4468…

  1. Haha! Great pic – although it reminded me of a movie I watched last night, whereby a girl got Google glasses for a present before she went on holiday. While she was away, her regular glasses got stolen, so she had to wear these mad glasses all the time! It was from her POV, so I had to turn over midway, because everything she looked at got F’booked, photographed, skyped, or *located*. Nightmare. I bet this girl of yours saw that movie too. Wearing her zoomy binocu-glasses. Hence the zany grin, ha! 😀

Leave a Reply

