Wuff wuff! Keep away!…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s heraldic term is ‘Pomme’ – a green roundel – I suppose one should say, ‘A roundel vert’ if one was trying to get into the lingo of heraldry. Really your roundel is (from the French) a nice Granny Smith apple… (Pomme)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

WP F dogWhen I stopped doing old-style black and white, film and darkroom, photography I ended up with piles of storage sheets containing my strips of 35mm negatives. I decided not to keep them all, but spent a couple of long headache inducing evenings taking each strip out and peering at the images with a magnifying glass to see if there was anything worth hanging on to – it is always difficult looking at images in negative and trying to make out what they were. I kept less than a quarter of the negs to have digitally scanned, and dumped the rest.
Later, looking through my old prints I found the odd one or two that was a reasonable picture, but for which the negative was now in the dustbin. I scanned these prints, they were about 8″ x 6″ images on 10″ x 8″ photo paper. The picture above is one of those.
What I like about this one is that it is hard to make sense of at first glance; there is not quite enough information coming through the railings to make the animal recognisable. It could be an abstract painting – I think if the eyes were visible it would have been more apparent that what was lurking there behind the galvanised steel fence was this great daft slobbering beast…
These railings fenced off a parking place for commercial vehicles and this cute lump of a dog was painted on the side of a lorry inside – what he was advertising I have no idea…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, Film, heraldry, history, humour, information, painting, photography, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wuff wuff! Keep away!…

  1. It looks like a St Bernard, so it might have been advertising Whisky? I’m not just saying that due to the Scottish prevalence for the drink, by the way! 😀

  2. shammy says:

    I thought St Bernards had a prediliction for Brandy…..?

Leave a Reply

