A few shortish items…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s fruits are the damson and the banana who are proudly flouting society’s conventions and becoming very close friends.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 289.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I was attacked by doves and kittens.

A single overheard remark:
‘I can’t do anything until Angel’s walking…’

An observation:
Town today was full of people flicking their feet out sideways as they walked – Charlie Chaplin style…

The cafe was full of noisy children yesterday; only a few of them were actually children, the rest were twenty-something actors conversing and practicing their diction and vocal projection.

I started watching a film the other evening, it was Black Death (2010), but I hadn’t realised that medieval England was so troubled by wobbly camerawork, and I had to switch it off as it was making me feel queasy.

I experienced a quantum event Monday afternoon, I don’t know whether it was quantum superposition or quantum tunnelling. I was at the checkout at Marks and Spencer; I put one of those plastic dividers on the belt between the shopping of the lady in front and my soft seeded loaf and block of cheddar. I glanced away for a second or two at some commotion and raised voices over at the cooked meats, and when I looked down again the lady in front’s cucumber had appeared at my side of the divider. I pointed it out to her; she looked up and examined me with surprise on her face and a suspicious look in her eye. I said, ‘I expect it’s just quantum superposition…’
She frowned and replied, ‘Hm… more like quantum tunnelling… Einstein wouldn’t have been too happy with that… Just you pop it back where it belongs, if you don’t mind.’ (QT)

I’m thinking of changing my name to Rosslyn Chapel. (RC)

An observation:
I once had a temporary job working with a bloke who was horrible to most of the people he encountered, and especially to the young people working under him – he was, if there is such a thing, a ‘naturally unpleasant’ person. After a few days, for some reason, he decided that I was actually ‘alright’ and he started, in his way, being nice to me, and he behaved as if I was his ‘friend’… which of course I wasn’t…

A single overheard remark:
‘It’s a silly name – like cold sore…’

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, cafe, conversation, dreaming, Dulltown, existentialism, Film, history, Hull.UK., humour, information, misheard, observations, overheard, physics, science, serendipity, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A few shortish items…

  1. I ate a straight banana yesterday. As straight as a ruler it was, most bizarre. Mars and Spencers quantum tunnelling……yes, it happens a lot with me. Mostly in the queue itself though, not grocery items. I’m such a wimp that I don’t say anything, I just make a huge fuss about lifting my stuff and moving elsewhere, while they clearly ignore the crazy muttering lady behind them. I might say that if it happens again “Quantum tunnelling again, madam? Bad for the soul is that” 😀

Leave a Reply

