Stella spots the snowflakes…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s financial forecast is for money to grow on trees and for everyone to be penny wise and pound foolish, but of course do keep an eye on the markets.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA‘Four Views’ (1994) Pastel and colour pencil on thick watercolour paper, about 24″ x 18″.

‘Hey!… Hey you!… Stop it!… Who the hell’s that leaning on my doorbell?’
‘Open the door you great fool!’
‘Hm… Oh, hello Stella, it’s you… Do come in.’
‘You knew perfectly well it was me, you buffoon! It’s bloody freezing out there, call this April? Here, take my brolly, give it a good shake and stand it in your sink.’
‘And good morning to you my dear. Hm, interesting hat – I like those sheepskin ear flaps!’
‘You like it David?’
‘No, on you it looks ridiculous!…’
‘Look, I want a big pint mug of hot steaming tea, and something sweet… Got any nice cake?’
‘Look at your muddy footprints on my hall tiles Stella, there is a doormat you know…’
‘Cake David!… Give me cake!…’
‘I have half a packet of chocolate coconut rings, Sainsbury’s ones.’
‘They’ll do… What the hell’s this?’
‘It’s a drawing, a pastel, from 1994, I did it when I was…’
‘Looks like my Auntie Brenda’s curtains… Where’s my tea?’
‘The kettle’s just boiling… Curtains?’
‘Yes, she like bright colours and has no taste at all.’
‘Hm… Have a ring Stella.’
‘Do these dunk in tea alright?’
‘I expect so… So you don’t think much of my painting?’
‘Painting?’
‘Pastel drawings are properly called ‘paintings’.’
‘I knew that!… It’s alright I suppose. Why do you called it ‘Four Views’?’
‘Here’s you tea, and don’t spill it… It’s because the field is divided into four equal…’
‘Oh, I get it… Is this Taylors of Harrogate Yorkshire Tea?’
‘Of course.’
‘Hm… I like the stars, the stars rescue the thing, they give it the feel of a schmaltzy Christmas card David.’
‘Really?’
‘Yes, they could be flakes of snow of course. Another coconut ring please!’
‘Here… and please don’t slurp you tea like that, you know it annoys me.’
‘It needs to be slurped David, it’s hot… Those colours are very bright – they are fighting each other, I’ll bet you used all the crayons in the box on this one.’
‘I always do, except the browns… and dark green can sometimes be a problem, you see, just a…’
‘David, you don’t want that last coconut ring, do you?… Thank you…. So, would you like me to take a photo of this, er, painting, and see if my Auntie Brenda would like to buy it from you? She’s got plenty of spare cash and no colour sense whatsoever.’
‘Certainly not, you cheeky minx!… I suppose you’ll be wanting another mug of tea?’
‘Go on then…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, conversation, creation, drawing, existentialism, Grumpiness, humour, information, painting, style, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stella spots the snowflakes…

  1. memadtwo says:

    Good forecast. And great colors.

  2. I love this painting – and that Stella is a bit rude. She reminds me of that Hyacinth Bucket off the telly (not that I like that programme, but I was forced to watch it once).

Leave a Reply

