Mail Art Postcard No. 4569…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s instruction is to hold a ripe banana in each hand at arm’s length to left and right, look up to the sky but with eyes closed, wiggle your toes in your shoes, and hum the theme from Gone With the Wind… There, you feel better already… don’t you?…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Oh, I think it’s time for another of my daft-crazy-mad-quirky-wacky-silly mail art postcards:

WP F 4569Speaking of things daft-crazy-mad-quirky-wacky-silly – someone (a person who called himself an artist, but really didn’t have any actual skills – other than applying for arts funding and manipulating people), once summed up the whole body of my art, as ‘quirky’. If I was an aggressive sort of chap, I’d have punched him on his silly nose… but I digress…
Yes, another simple postcard using cuttings from that awful British TV listings magazine What’s On TV.
I do like this one; it makes me smile, but at the same time it really is pretty scary – the stuff of ancient gargoyles, Hieronymus Bosch, and cheese fuelled sweaty nightmares…
Can I say that I like this one? Of course I can, I wouldn’t have done it otherwise – hell, you should like your own work, shouldn’t you? You’ve just got to hope that your small audience of intelligent discerning sophisticates (that’s you dear reader!) will share your enthusiasm for such daftness…

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, cool, humour, instruction, Mail Art, postcards, serendipity, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mail Art Postcard No. 4569…

  1. memadtwo says:

    Better quirky than “interesting” (the ultimate insult).

  2. I do like this one, although its a little disconcerting. The faint smile of the mouth matches the direct gaze of the eyes, as if the dog is having amusing thoughts. Probably along the lines of “That cat can’t stay up there forever….it has to come down sometime, and oh boy, when it does, I will have so much fun!” Also….not having seen the entirety of your work, I cannot comment on “quirky” but…..there are worse words to use. At least he looked through it all. And how would you describe it if you had to write an artist statement, hmmm? 😀

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Artist statement? Artist’s statement! Whaaaa!… Alright, quirky will do, I suppose…
      Yes, that smiley dog – he/she’s great isn’t he/she?…

Leave a Reply

