The kitchen wall…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s architectural term is Redan – a small ravelin. Well, that’s simple enough isn’t it? Oh, you want to know what a ravelin is?
Apparently in military architecture, it is an outwork formed of two faces of a salient angle and constructed beyond the main ditch and in front of the curtain wall.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN4190Here’s a picture of mine taken last December.
Minimal isn’t it?… Is it possibly too minimal for you?
Can I hear you say, ‘Oh, come on Dave! Why didn’t you get this nice plant in the middle of the picture? I do like plants! What kind of a photographer are you, if you can’t even…’ etc.?
The plant: I know very little about plants and gardening things so I’m very surprised that this one is doing so well. He is my Swiss cheese plant (Monstera deliciosa according to Mr Google) – he was a rescue job.
One afternoon, about ten years ago I was on my way out, walking up our street and saw a large (about a foot in diameter) brown glazed earthenware pot lying on its side, but unbroken, on the pavement outside a scruffy house. The house had old furniture and other junk piled up in its small front garden. The pot had most of the soil still in it along with the remains of this plant – his thick main stem had been snapped off at right-angles about two inches above the soil. It was a nice pot though; I decided that I should pick it up, turn around, and lug it off home with me.
Once there, I snipped off all the damaged stuff, watered the sorry looking stump and the soil, and stood it on the shelf in my kitchen. (Oh, and by the way, I was planning to write something about the composition of the photograph in this space, but I seemed to have drifted off into ‘plant talk’ instead… and no, before you ask, I don’t watch gardening shows on the TV!)
Anyway, now he is about four feet across and thriving with only one or two brown edges on his thick shiny green leaves.
So, right then, photography, minimal…
I like this photo. That shadow on the wall almost looks more solid than the actual leaf, and those wispy over-exposed Venetian blind shadows look alright too… Hm, minimal… He looks like he’s sneaking in from the side, like Nosferatu in the night…
(N in the N)

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in architecture, art, Dulltown, green, Hull.UK., humour, information, photography, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The kitchen wall…

  1. Oh I do like a good rescue story! I’m not a great gardener by any means, but Swiss Cheese plants are great survivours against the odds, so well done. I have two indoor Hosta plants which I have managed to keep alive, heavens know how. Anyway, I do like your photograph….its very minimalist indeed with a splash of colour. Nice. 😀

Leave a Reply

