That upside down ‘8’…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s random colours are: dirty grey, dirty red, dirty yellow, murky green, resplendent orange, and dirty brown.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN4463Here’s a picture I took last week; full of movement isn’t it? Well, no, not really. It was taken from the upper deck of a bus in the Dulltown Interchange, or ‘bus station’ as we used to call it.
I suppose it works reasonable well as a composition, albeit a slightly arty one – what with the camera canted over producing all that blatant diagonalism. (I think I have just made that word up – if Shakespeare could make words up, so can I!) I also like the glimpse of the blue shirted driver, sitting waiting there in his cab, just visible in the bottom left-hand corner…
But, putting the aesthetics of the image aside for a moment, my idea in taking the shot was to get a picture of that upside down figure ‘8’ on the sliding glass door. Yes, someone has stuck the numeral on it upside down.
‘So what?…’ I hear you mutter.
Oh, but hang on a minute, I wonder if the door came pre-numbered and some person at the Interchange fitted it in its frame the wrong way up? Ah, but it doesn’t really matter though, does it?
‘So Dave, what is the point of this photo then?’ I hear you ask, as you stifle a sly yawn with the back of your hand.
Well, perhaps most people wouldn’t notice the odd inadvertently inverted numeral, but, and to quote detective Philip Marlow in the novel Farewell My Lovely, (Raymond Chandler, 1940) – for me, ‘it stood out like a tarantula on a slice of angel food’ – (I wonder if that’s what here in the UK we’d call ‘angel cake’?)
Every time I pass through the building that ‘8’ catches my eye, I feel the urge to slide over and peel it off and stick it back the right way up, thus making the world a slightly more harmonious place. But no, with thoughts of embarrassment and possible arrest, I always resist…
The thing is, this being Dulltown (UK City of Culture 2017), I don’t expect anyone cares enough about subtle aesthetic issues to do anything about it – they probably haven’t even noticed it. I think that ‘8’ will stay like that for ever, until the badly designed place eventually falls down – and that would be a good thing too!…

A footnote:
However, dear reader, over the next few months, if one day I notice that this rogue ‘8’ has been dealt with, I will get back to you, withdraw this offensive blog post, and apologise publicly for maligning this fair city, its interchange, and of course its lovely people…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, design, Dulltown, existentialism, food, Grumpiness, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, photography, reading, seeing, serendipity, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to That upside down ‘8’…

  1. Now then. Understandably you have an issue with the upside down number 8 – I hope its rectified soon, although I doubt it as people will say “oh you can still tell its an eight”. Or “how much will I get paid to change it around” BUT…..my first impressions of your photograph was one of a windswept balcony and bizarre deckchairs being blown over onto their side…… 😀

  2. shammy says:

    That upside down 8 would annoy me so much that I wouldn’t be able to look at it as I rode on the bus, I’d have to avert my eyes, and I would probably write to the paper or the local council to complain about it. Perhaps that’s what you should do. Writing letters often gets results. I once got off a parking ticket by writing a letter……..

Leave a Reply

