Decalcomania mania again…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s Sir Arthur Conan Doyle quotation is from The Man With the Twisted Lip:
Dr Watson: Upper Swandam Lane is a vile alley lurking behind the high wharves which line the north side of the river to the east of London Bridge. Between a slop-shop and a gin-shop, approached by a steep flight of steps leading down to a black gap like the mouth of a cave, I found the den of which I was in search. Ordering my cab to wait, I passed down the steps, worn hollow by the ceaseless tread of drunken feet; and by the light of a flickering oil lamp above the door, I found the latch and made my way into a long low room, thick and heavy with the brown opium smoke…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

WP F DSCN2476Gosh! Who are these people?…
Ah, this is just another of my decalcomania monoprints from about five years ago – it is just black acrylic paint applied in a sneaky way to nice white drawing paper (probably about 16″ x 12″).Β  If you are wondering what the hell ‘decalcomania’ might be, you could have a look at an earlier post of mine which may explain a little about it; it also shows you how you might do some of this interesting printing technique yourself – it really is great fun! Just click here.
These folk do look like they are standing chatting don’t they? Number One seems to be facing the other three; perhaps this pompous ass is holding forth on some ‘interesting’ topic, perhaps some political nonsense he has just been reading in the Daily Express, as the four of them stand on the pavement waiting patiently for the post office to open – look, it’s two minutes past already!…
Numbers Three and Four seem to be taking offence at what Number One is saying and trying to shout him down; look at their snooty heads raised in contempt. Number Two can’t bear all the noise and upset and has put her elbows up around her ears to blot it out. Good for her I say… That’s what I’d do…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, cool, decalcomania, design, drama, humour, information, instruction, reading, seeing, style, surrealism, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Decalcomania mania again…

  1. Oh my gosh, now these are quite wonderful! How did you manage to get the edges so pristine?

    • Dave Whatt says:

      The edges so pristine?
      Er… I don’t know, perhaps having the glass very clean and the paint pretty thick and sticky?…

      • Well like I said before, you are a master at this, so I’ll just keep practicing. πŸ˜€

      • Dave Whatt says:

        I don’t think I’m a master of it at all…
        This edge business – I put the paint on the glass quickly and light-heartedly with a flexible knife, or a finger, in some sort of rough ‘design’, put a another piece of glass, or smooth flat plastic, over it – lift it off again vertically (it emits a sucking squelching noise) and lower the drawing paper carefully on – rub lightly with palm of hand – carefully pull it off again. Sharp edges, swirls and those ‘leaf shapes’ should be there… that’s it.
        How’s that?…

      • Ahh well y’see, I do the paint, glass paper thing, not the paint, glass, glass, paper way. Interesting how everyone’s process is different! πŸ™‚

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Mm, I find all the interesting and surprising things appear after the 2nd glass or plastic sheet is applied…
        Decalcomania for ever!…

      • Well I tried it, but I used a plastic bag (just a thin crinkly one from the local shop) I got this…. https://scribbleartie.wordpress.com/2016/05/24/painted-paper/

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Ah, right. It does look good, and very much your style.
        If you want to try that ‘leaf-like’ effect you need to press on something flat and smooth like a small sheet of glass (an old hand mirror?) or stiff plastic, like a… er… Oh, how about a transparent sheet from the front of a cheap clip frame? Just a thought… I use a piece of old perspex about 8″ x 6″ – I glued a small piece of wood on to one side as a ‘handle’.

      • Oooh great minds think alike with the glass and handle! I did that too and its so much easier. Apart from the plastic bags, I also use those poly pocket things….y’know, students use them to keep their “important” papers in.

      • Dave Whatt says:

        I always forget what those things are called – I find in the shops they seem to be known as “punched pockets” – nice!…

      • Blimey, thats quite an aggressive description! Up here its just poly pockets. But I like the flexibility of them – I must do a video some day. I keep thinking of that, because I feel some visual explanations in text can be so tedious. I’m shy though, so….I dunno. >_<

      • Dave Whatt says:

        I’m not quite sure what you mean – the video of the flexible poly-pockets – will you be wearing them?…

      • Oh my goodness….you are hilarious!! πŸ˜€ No, I think wearing them is a bit beyond my comfort zone. Interesting thought though, I’m sure someone somewhere would find that quite entertaining to try out! πŸ˜€

      • Dave Whatt says:

        You could probably get funding to do it!…

      • Hmm….PolyPocketPainter.com is available for 99p. Right, pass me that application form! πŸ˜€

  2. shammy says:

    Hmmmm…. interesting, I think I shall have to try this. Acrylic paint right out of the tube, huh?

Leave a Reply

