Bag with fecund grass…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s English 18th c. expletive is – He would lend his arse!
That’s a great one isn’t it? What an image it conjures up!
Hello, yes, it’s me. Now listen, I seem to remember lending you my arse last week, and I was thinking that it was about time that you… Hello?…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

WP F DSCN4475
You may remember a week or so ago I was ranting on about how photography isn’t about buying flashy cameras, but is really about keeping your eyes open for possibly interesting photographs at all times.
Here’s one I took as I walked into town last week. I was proceeding up a path between a busy dual carriageway packed with speeding loud trucks and vans and dust, and a hedge, behind which was a row of cheap looking two-story houses. As I passed along, out of the corner of my eye I spotted this discarded shopping bag with the word ‘fresh’ written on it. There it was, on the green green grass, by the hedge, just begging to be snapped.
I framed it so that most of the picture would be occupied by all that verdant fecund bright throbbing grass, but with the man-made printed item shoved down into the left-hand corner – in the West we do tend to read things from left to right, so the eye is drawn more easily across the composition; oh, and see how those healthy looking leeks line up nicely with the grass stalks – and no, before you ask, I didn’t move the bag around to get the best composition, really, that’s just how I found it…
Hm, not too bad a picture… What do you think?…

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, colours, Dulltown, existentialism, expletives, green, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, photography, seeing, serendipity, style, surrealism, swearing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bag with fecund grass…

  1. Scots love the word arse. “She has a face like a well spanked arse” (she’s not pretty), or “Yer arse is oot the windae” (you are talking rubbish)
    So, onto your photo! I think its most lovely….you are right in that the way the leeks on the bag flow nicely into the grass, making it look like one thing, and the colours match well. I didn’t think you moved it for a minute – such serendipity cannot be forced. 😀

  2. I think it’s a gem of a picture! Also I didn’t think you moved it for a minute. Thing is though, seeing it unaccompanied, on a gallery wall say (!) most people probably would assume it was artistically “arranged” rather than found, wouldn’t they? Best not hang it in a gallery I reckon!

  3. Shammy says:

    ….the gnarled hands are cradling the leeks like a precious newborn baby…..

Leave a Reply

