Mail Art Postcard No. 4598…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s existential angst is centred around the phrase globular cluster. (GC)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

WP F 4598Whoa!… (I love that word)
I suppose this could be classed as high treason – the crime of disloyalty to the crown. Gosh, can I hear the slamming of cars doors in the street, and the crunch of big boots walking up my front path? I think I’ll just pretend I’m not in…

No, this is just another of my recent mail art postcards – a simple collage, on nice bright card from Tescos, using cuttings from that trashy, but useful magazine What’s On TV.

These three people: (No Dave, allow me to correct you, these are not people, these are Royals!) Well I’m pretty sure that that is Her Majesty the Queen doing her waving thing there on the right, but I’m not so sure who the other two are, perhaps that chap in the middle is the father of the worried looking child on the left – just look at those frowning eyebrows! Perhaps the poor little thing has just had a fleeting premonition of his future life? Is the strange chap Her Majesty’s grandson? He must be I suppose. I don’t know their names, I’m afraid, oh, and please don’t bother writing in to tell me – I won’t remember anyway – that sort of information isn’t important to me.

Hey, don’t the stick-on eyes work well on this one? This is proper surrealism!…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, existentialism, humour, information, Mail Art, postcards, Royalty, science, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mail Art Postcard No. 4598…

  1. Now George…oops sorry, you didn’t want to know – ok lets call him puppet (…or even puppet 1, because there are two of them now) anyway, little puppet is looking slightly disconcerted at his father having such heavily made up eyes. Not so sure he should be displaying such private tendencies in public, but we ARE being trained to accept this sort of thing, so ho hum. Nice composition though. šŸ™‚

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Damn! I knew someone would tell me!…
      Oh those Royals! They can do what they like can’t they?
      By the way, you seem to be pretty well informed on Royal matters my dear Scribbler…

      • Hrmph….Don’t get much choice with today’s media delighting in every sneeze they do. I actually wondered if the baby…charlotte, had something wrong with her because they kept her out of the limelight for so long. I was convinced they were hiding something, ha!

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Maybe she doesn’t have opposable thumbs, and hovers in mid air occasionally…

  2. P.S…..Globular Cluster and the royals…..was that a deliberate match, or happy accident? Great metaphor regardless šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

