Some short but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s gazelle is the short stocky one with spectacles and a pot belly.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 294.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I had to transpose my new scherzo.

A single overheard remark:
‘…and now I feel mousetrapped…’

The 1993 film So I Married an Axe Murderer was on TV last night – I liked it, I laughed, it had a lovely assortment of well cast characters in it. Here’s a good scene with the ‘nice’ police chief. Click.

You see, the trouble with being a surrealist is that surrealists are very thin on the ground and you have great difficulty finding someone to talk to.

‘I think I’d better tune my guitar up, could you give me an E please?’
‘An E?… Any E?… Which octave would you like?’
‘Oh any, it doesn’t matter.’
‘How’s this?…’
‘How’s what? I can’t hear anything.’
‘That was the E at 21.09 kilohertz, but I think it may be above the range of human hearing.’
‘Idiot!…’
‘Ouch!…’

5.38 am this morning: I suddenly woke up, wide awake, from a dream set in an ornate arched arcade with posh shops at each side:
‘Oh, what a striking face you have, what is your name?’
‘Klara…’
‘Hm, let me brush my lips over your pale knuckles. What do you think of Julia’s large painted picture frame?’
‘I like it, my husband just bought it for me.’

Hm… Microsoft Windows 10…
The desktop picture with the date and time on it that you get when starting up is of a tropical cove with blue sky and rocks – isn’t it a pity that they didn’t bother getting the horizon level?… It looks a bit cheap to me…

‘That man who was over there, the one in the shorts…’
‘What about him?’
‘Did you see his bushy legs?’
‘Bushy legs? People don’t have bushy legs.’
‘Well he did. Hey, people can have bushy beards, and moustaches, can’t they?’
‘Well, yes, but…’
‘What’s wrong with bushy legs then?’
‘Well I…’
‘I’ll bet he has a bushy chest too.’
‘Possibly…’

A single overheard remark:
‘So, did you get yours puffed up after all?…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, conversation, cool, dreaming, Dulltown, existentialism, Film, Hull.UK., humour, music, observations, overheard, physics, science, serendipity, surrealism, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some short but pithy items…

  1. Oh I’ll have to watch that movie! I enjoyed the little excerpt you showed. And your overheard remarks kind of go together “So, did you get yours puffed up after all?” she asked “Yes” her friend replied, biting her lip “and now I feel mousetrapped!”

Leave a Reply

