Some short but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s architectural term is Motte – a steep mound, the main feature of many 11th c. and 12th c. castles. My castle’s motte was so steep I had to have a stair lift installed for the safety of my elderly or drunken visitors.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 296.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I had a bit of a problem with my offshore banking.

A single overheard remark:
‘If you got student ID you get free McFlurry…’

The onion revelation:
The other day I bought a pack of organic onions instead of the ordinary ones that I usually buy. I was taken back in time, yes, really – well in my head anyway. When you peel and chop up organic ones they bring tears to your eyes. It seems years since that has happened, in fact I’d completely forgotten that onions are supposed to make you cry. Modern onions don’t do this, they are so horribly bland. Also, the organic ones show their presence in the cooked food later with an actual taste! Oh, I shall get more of these…

And also:
A jazz person’s joke:
What’s the difference between an onion and a banjo?
No one cries when you chop up a banjo…’

Oh, what’s this? An item of spam in my comments box. It seems to be from someone called Jimmyahoo:
‘These are genuinely enormous ideas in concerning blogging.
You have touched some good factors here.
Any way keep up writing.’
Well, thank you Jimmyahoo, I will certainly bear in mind what you have said, and I really do look forward to hearing from you again.

I see one of the Freeview digital TV channels here in the UK is re-running the complete set of The X-Files. They are really very good – I’m glued to the TV every evening.
I wonder if in real life, between takes, Mulder and Scully used to address each other as Duchovny and Anderson, rather than David and Gillian?…

An observation:
I was behind a couple of quite wide obese people in the supermarket checkout queue. I glanced at the contents of their trolley as I waited: four large packets of biscuits (different kinds), jumbo packs of salted peanuts, lots of sweets and snacks and chocolate, packs of bacon, and several jumbo packs of multi flavoured crisps, and two frying pans.
It’s not for me to judge of course, but I did find it quite depressing. The purpose of their lives seem to be summed up in their trolley; this is how capitalism wants people to be.
I heard on the news recently that overweight people now outnumber the rest of the world’s population.

A single overheard remark:
‘I really do appreciate green…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, archeology, architecture, Dulltown, existentialism, food, history, humour, information, observations, overheard, serendipity, style, TV, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some short but pithy items…

  1. Yes, buy organic when you can. It is rather expensive in some cases but “Organic” is what we used to have back in the day when food was important and the money machine less so. Anyhow, trolleys….yes…I do this all the time. It IS hard not to judge, but good fun all the same. I wonder what was in your basket at the time…? 😀

Leave a Reply

