Linocut lunacy…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe… Oops!… I think we’d better start getting used to…

Dulltown, UK: Today’s choice adjectives are: functional, Cantuarian, irrevocable, sheepish, pilose, dazzling, and dripping.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

WP F DSCN1169Here is a small linocut print of mine from a few years ago; a simple composition…
It is obviously influenced by the great work of Maurits Cornelis Escher and also the strange and challenging world of impossible objects.
It was a quick and roughly done piece – but I really wanted to try something in this genre – did I just say genre? Sorry dear reader, I slipped into blatant artiness just for a moment…
M C Escher was one of those artists who did strikingly original work which unfortunately didn’t fit into the style of art at the time. The art critics and academics had a quick look at it and probably thought, Well, these things he does are obviously very well thought out, and they are beautifully executed, but for the life of me I don’t see how I can fit them in with Expressionism, Cubism, World War I, Surrealism, politics and economics, and the rise of… Look, I think we’d better just ignore him altogether… Yes, good idea… That’s that little problem out of the way. So… what are we having for lunch?…
Oh, and while we are at it, another artist, whose work I really like, who certainly didn’t fit in with the art trends of the day was Tamara de Lempika – she was out on her own and was pretty much ignored by these self-appointed art regulators…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, creation, dreaming, fashion, history, Hull.UK., humour, information, learning, mind, painting, prints, seeing, style, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Linocut lunacy…

  1. How can you pack so much into a small post such as this? Ok, so skipping over the politics (but secretly sniggering at the potential of having ol’ BJ as prime minister) I do like your lino cut. It quite mesmerising because I try to follow the lines, and can’t, so end up down the stairs. Also Lempika is someone I never heard of, so followed your link to have a peek. Very luscious and seductive, was my first impression. The colours and smooth style is beautiful. I reckon good art is good art, and critics should go mind their own business because they know nothing. I’m off to have a look at Escher now, but I’ll need my glasses I think – his work gives me a headache, despite being quite breathtaking. 😀

    • Dave Whatt says:

      My Dear Scribbler, thank you for your unflagging encouragement – it really is much appreciated.
      Yes, today, let’s leave politics aside…
      I recall that pictures by Tamara de L. used to turn up regularly in in the background in episodes of ‘Poirot’ – very 1930s…

      • Haha! Do you do that as well? Peer at the background art, rather than the actual programme? I find all sorts of lovely stuff, yet for some reason nothing appears on the credits, so i can’t go and research further. Most annoying sometimes. And you are welcome. Without getting terribly gushy, an’ all…its just nice to know that I’m not the only one who views the world in a unique way! 😀

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Oh, and by the way, I forgot to mention in my linoprint explanation – that white square top left is, of course, the sun illuminating the scene…

      • Of course, yes, I did wonder. All is clear now. 😀

  2. Actually, you’d better get used to “Dulltown, England”, not UK. Today was a victory for the Little Englanders, not the United Kingdom. Scotland and Ulster are pro-European.
    As for “genre”, by the way, I like your oeuvre!

    • Just to add to the confusion, not all of Scotland who voted to remain, actually trust the EU anymore than the English do. But given the result, the SNP are taking full advantage and are planning another Indie Referendum for Scotland. Hadrians Wall #2 is already under construction, I believe…..

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Ah well, that’s democracy for you… It will make life interesting if you split off from us down here.
        Oh, and by the way, please do take Her Majesty and her family with you when you go.

      • Hrmph, “interesting” you say…..? And I think Her Majesty won’t appreciate being uprooted from her cosy little home to ramble across Europe with a bunch of Haggis Hunters, so she stays with you. And Boris. 😀

Leave a Reply

