Spatter Painting No. 10…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s (not very) random dictionary words are: theriac, theurgy, thowless, thrasonic, threap, and bumbaze. Please have these words looked up and placed in suitable sentences ready for Professor Mouldie first thing after breakfast tomorrow morning. The professor may conduct the lesson in a rough cod Liverpool accent; you should not let this distract you from your studies.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Spatter 10... (29 x21)Spatter Painting No. 10. Acrylic paint and black ink on watercolour paper about 29″ x 21″.

Gosh, doesn’t time fly? It seems like only five minutes ago I was splashing bright paint around doing these things, but a whole year has skipped past – I wonder if I should do some more? They really are fun to do…
This one’s a bit runny isn’t it? ‘Rivulets’ might be a good word to bring in later on, if needed. It all looks pretty vertical and gravitational doesn’t it? But just look at that cheeky fluorescent green chap blatting in from the right. I’m probably using the word ‘blatting’ wrongly here, (apparently blatting describes a sound rather than a visual phenomenon) but I don’t care – born to be wild, me…
I suppose some people might be seeing a bunch of long-legged red beasts going about their daily beastly business in this painting – perhaps reminiscent of the tripod machines in H G Wells’ War of the Worlds – arachnopods is a very nice word to throw in here too – look at them all standing around chatting and exchanging witty anecdotes before they go off to do their rampaging in the great city…
Also, how do you like my runny rivulets?…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, dreaming, Film, humour, information, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spatter Painting No. 10…

  1. Well, I was going to say that I see abstract flowers, but now you said beasts, thats all I see, and the flowers are gone. Did you know that the word for seeing shapes in things is called Pareidolia? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pareidolia. I discovered that yesterday and feel quite pleased with myself. I do like the Rivulet Series – that splatter (oops, Spatter) of green looks like an errant winged insect. πŸ˜€

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Ah yes, pare-thingy, I came across that word only recently too, but I’ll bet it’s been around for yonks – do you say ‘yonks’ up there is Scottishland? http://english.stackexchange.com/questions/133943/what-is-the-etymology-of-yonks
      The green insect – no, can’t see it myself, unless it has been unfortunately recently stood on.
      If you lived within walking distance, I’d pop round and look at your pipes for you… not that I’m a pipe expert you understand.

      • Yes, we do say “yonks” up here on occasion, and apparently the unit of time for a yonk is 3 months and 13 days. And thank you for the offer of a PPI (Personal Pipe Inspection) – I imagine walking distance may well be happening if the 2nd EU Referendum doesn’t come to pass, and Scotland gets Independance….many English folk already have their eye up here for possible accommodation. However, in the meantime, I have constructed an apparatus made from kitchen towel, to soak up wandering water….. πŸ˜€

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Apparatus – that’s good!
        Gosh, I didn’t think a yonk would be that precise…
        I don’t think Americans have yonks, but if they did, I suppose they’d be Yankee-yonks…

      • …and now I just snorted coffee all over myself! You are too funny! πŸ˜€

  2. memadtwo says:

    They do look like insects. I’ve always liked this technique, as randomness seems to be a large part of life in general.

Leave a Reply

