Rambling on about flags…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s weather will feature moistness in vestibules, egg-shaped white clouds, bees looking puzzled, frogs glancing upwards, and a blueness that is fresh and exhilarating.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN4565This is a rather drab and uninteresting photograph.
How’s that for a first line?
‘Is this a political image David?’
No, I don’t think so, but the point of the picture is of course the flag; I notice that for some reason it says ‘England’ on it.
Perhaps some people might see my inclusion of this picture as a comment on the recent referendum when we all decided that we should slip out of the European Union, or as some would have it, the gradually forming United States of Europe. I wonder if they could squeeze some pithy meaning from the diverging arrows painted on the road?
Perhaps they might see this picture as representing a map of Europe with England crouching alone up there in the top corner – well, I say ‘England’ because the Scots and the Northern Irish will probably bugger off and leave us now, so really it’ll be just us and the Welsh left. MartinMartin on twitter suggested that we should be called ‘Wangland’ from now on – I do like that!
But of course this picture is nothing to do with politics, well, I don’t think it is – I could be wrong – it really depends on the intentions of the person who nailed the flag onto the front of their house. The Americans seem very keen on having their flags on their houses or on poles in their front yards. I’ve never really understood that. The purpose of a flag is presumably to show the people of the world to whom a particular piece of land, a ship, an aeroplane, a bomb, a sports team, etc. belongs. Just look at the size of the US, why would you need a flag on your lawn a thousand miles from the nearest foreign country? As a visitor, I think it would be pretty obvious where you were, and that you didn’t really need constantly reminding. We generally don’t do that sort of thing here. Still, there’s no harm in waving the odd flag about… or is there?…
Anyway, the one on the house above is probably all about football. I believe there is some sort of big football thing going on at the moment – I’m sure I’ve seen it fleetingly mentioned on the TV news. So, what is it this chap actually saying when he hangs his flag out? Notice here that I am presuming it is a man and not a woman – I could be wrong I suppose.
I think that he is really saying, ‘I like football, and I’ve put this flag up so that everybody can see that I like football.’ He is probably also saying, ‘I like the England football team, they are the best fucking team in the whole wide fucking world, even if they don’t win very often.’ He has probably got little England flags on his car aerial and toots his horn at other drivers with England flags on their car aerials. They are saying, ‘I am just like you, we like football don’t we?‘ and probably, ‘England are the best team in the fucking world, aren’t they? Toot back if you agree! By the way, do you like beer too?‘…
This is a rather drab and uninteresting photograph.

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, Dulltown, heraldry, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, photography, surrealism, thinking, weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Rambling on about flags…

  1. I think your photo is rather fitting for today’s political climate. And I do mean Today…..because by tomorrow, it will probably have changed all over again. I do like the arrows in the road – again it makes as much sense as the so called leaders. “Lets go this way!” some shout , pointing to the luscious green grass. “Noooo, we have to carry straight on with what those bits of paper say” shout others, waving lists of names and crosses in the air, while some just just wander into the middle of the road and get hit by whatever turmoil comes their way. 😀 (Which, incidentally, is the side where the England flag is hanging…hmmm)

  2. Criminal. Not a single original window left. Just endless tat bland double glazing.

  3. Rebecca says:

    I’ve never been much of a flag fan (although I quite like seeing the different designs), and I’m rather mystified by some Americans’ flagpole fetish. Eddie Izzard’s ‘Do you have a flag?’ sketch (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UTduy7Qkvk8) sums it up for me. Anyway, I particularly enjoy how this one has ‘England’ written on it, just in case it’s not recognised. 😉

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Oh, a lovely clip!…
      I actually like flags, but only from an aesthetic point of view. I think our Union Jack is a pretty good one, very eye-catching, and a very sneaky design, the way the diagonals crosses are cleverly out of sync with each other.
      I’m not sure I’d like to be caught waving one though…
      Thank you Rebecca.

Leave a Reply

