A few titchy items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s colours are: crispy crimson, verdant vermilion, wishy-washy white, crunchy chrome yellow, and ingenious indigo.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 297.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I found a big fat wyvern snoozing on my bed. (W)

A single overheard remark:
‘Me, I’m going Cossacks…’

An observation:
Today the clouds over the city have formed into the face of a giant Boris Johnson. (BJ)

‘Excuse me.’
‘Yes?’
‘Are you in the queue for the number 246 bus?’
‘No, I’m leaning against this wall. That’s the queue for the bus, just there.’
‘Well!… There’s no need to be like that!…’

A shortage of logic:
An employee stepped out of a small local supermarket carrying five or six lightweight black plastic storage trays; they were each about a foot-and-a-half square and a few inches deep. They were the kind that fit together, one on top of another, so that they can be stacked.
The employee was struggling a bit because he had his arms around them and the one at the bottom kept falling onto the pavement.
It was fascinating to watch. The trays would have been very easy to manage if he’d just held onto the bottom one, all the others would have rested happily on the top of it. There wasn’t much thinking going on that day. He proceeded up the street, meandering, and stopping occasionally to pick up the fallen ones and put them on the top of the wobbling pile.

Ah, what’s this? It must be something to do with next year’s Dulltown – UK City of Culture 2017. Someone has been putting up big posters for some forthcoming event – I don’t know what the event is, because its name is in French. Damn! If only I had my trusty French/English dictionary with me!…

Facebook:
It’s easy tell the left-wing people from the right-wing people on Facebook because the left-wing ones will often share things, to pass them on so other people can see them, to spread the art or the knowledge – whereas with the right-wing people you are lucky if you manage to get even a grudging like out of them…

Have you noticed on radio, TV, and in the press, that publicists and administrators from the arts and from science are constantly trying to organise events and exhibitions which try to combine their two fields? Usually theses things end up being very dull, a bit embarrassing, and generally disappointing for both sides. Yes, art and science are completely different things – do please stop trying to glue them together, it will inevitably end in tears; the scientists will look frumpy and uncool, and the artists will look dim-witted and childish.

A single overheard remark:
‘So, how are the owlets?…’ (O)

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, conversation, cool, Dulltown, existentialism, Hull.UK., humour, information, misheard, observations, overheard, physics, science, serendipity, surrealism, thinking, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A few titchy items…

  1. Ahh, I see Dulltown UK now, not Europe….hmmm, never say never 😀 Unless of course…….anyway, yes, ol’ BJ has decided not to be PM after all……I think he is afraid his hair turns grey with the stress of it all. https://www.thesun.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/2701380.main_image.jpg Also art and science involve two different sides of the brain, so of course they don’t work together. My two kids are scientists, yet I’m more of a creative, and neither understands the other when “pontificating” about our passions, haha! 😀

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Oh God! That link – he jumped right out of the screen at me! Whoa!…
      The ‘Dulltown UK’ thing – I’ve had it as ‘Dulltown, Europe’ for ages, so I thought I’d adapt early before we actually go. I think we ‘are’ going, aren’t we? Well, you might not be, of course…
      I do like science and art, but I don’t think I mix them together much…

Leave a Reply

