What’s all this stuff buzzing in my head this morning?…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s existential angst is centred around the sound of the word ‘unction’.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Did I remember to put the recycling bin out yesterday? No, but really, isn’t this supposed to be a democracy? See, they had the referendum, didn’t they think a bit about the two possible outcomes? There are small damp patches on the red-painted wall in the little room downstairs – see, the paint is erupting and flaking off the plaster, I thought I’d fixed that a year ago.  But then, there was the BBC News ignoring the thousands of people marching past its doors, through the centre of London, protesting at austerity, bankers, and corruption – why didn’t they report it? The EU thing – if it’s democratically arrived at then that should be it, shouldn’t it? Cashew nuts added to breakfast cereal in the morning. Is that why I’ve been feeling a little queasy in the afternoons – probably not, are cashews a ‘windy’ nut? Then there are the Americans – hey Mom, I’m just going down to Wal-Mart to get another couple of those cool assault rifles… Okay Son, be back in time for Dad coming home. Bang bang bang. That repair to my leaky pond liner seems to be holding, there’s still a good head of water in there. Yesterday there were a couple of chubby wood pigeons waddling down the plank to the little floating pontoon I made for them, I saw them staring at the water for a while and then having a drink. Hedgehogs could use the pontoon too, but I don’t think I have any of those.

DSCN4559No, but Jeremy Corbyn was voted in by a big majority of the Labour Party members, but most of his fellow MPs now want to chuck him out, that’s not democracy is it? So, this damp, I’m sure it’s ‘rising damp’, I’ve just bought some things called DryRods; you just drill 12mm holes low down in the wall, poke ’em in and leave them. That sounds good, doesn’t it? But there’s shiny-faced Hilary Clinton, she’s got that permanent fixed, confident, Richard Branson/Tony Blair grin on her face all the time – oh god yes, and how about a possible President Trump then? Why is rap music so popular around the world? It is so bloody relentlessly aggressive and, and yes, childish… Bang bang bang…  I have just bought Jim Al-Khalili’s new book about ‘quantum biology’ – it is a nice thick book – I do like thick books; I’ll let you know how I get on with it. It’s a hundred years since the start of the Battle of the Somme today, there will be events marking it apparently – they’ll be remembering the ‘fallen’ – how’s that for a euphemism? How about ‘killed’ or ‘slaughtered’? Bang bang bang… Speaking of bangs; oh dear, it’s about a year since I recorded the drums, bass, and synths sounds for my new tune – some day I intend to add an electric guitar twanging a Japanese-sounding scale to it – try C, C#, F, G, G#, C – but I just haven’t had the enthusiasm to bother with it – hardly anyone listens to my tunes on SoundCloud. Why do I eat so much at night, and wake up miserable in the mornings? Come on now, sort yourself out you idiot… Anyway, so far there is no sign of any water leaking from the altered pipes to the new taps in the bathroom – thank you God! I’ve just been reading the history of Rickenbacker Guitars, it was a pretty dry read I must say. I see that the Chilcot Report on the the Iraq War will be published soon, I wonder if T. Blair will somehow slither out from under it? Perhaps I’ll have some breakfast, cashews or not cashews? That is the question. Speaking of the BBC News, why have they not reported anything about the dozens of police forces in the UK investigating Conservative Party election fraud from the last General Election? Channel Four News have covered it. Whoa! It’s July 1st – I’d better back up all my June photographs to a cd and the external drive. Oh look, four wood pigeons on the newly cut grass, I don’t really call it a lawn. Go on! You can go and have a drink at the pond if you like. Are people still slaughtering each other in Syria? I expect so – I wonder if we are the calling them the ‘fallen’?…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, books, brain, dreaming, existentialism, food, Grumpiness, guitars, history, humour, information, mind, music, reading, serendipity, surrealism, thinking, words and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to What’s all this stuff buzzing in my head this morning?…

  1. memadtwo says:

    It’s just a euphemistic world…after all, why buy a used car when you can have a pre-owned vehicle?

  2. Oh that was a veritable stream of thoughts if ever there was one! Regarding the nut conundrum, try walnuts http://superfoodlists.com/walnut-superfood/. I do like your pond, you’ll be getting fish and frogs and all sorts there soon. Could do with a few flowers around it, mind you, to attract the bees. I was making porridge at the 2 mins silence for the Somme this morning (07.28). I stirred it silently, though – I had to or it would stick. And July already, yeah…thats quite depressing. 😀

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Walnuts eh? I’ll get some today!
      A few years back I had some goldfish in the pond that a friend of Dave-next-door gave me. I called them Shane, Duane, Loraine, Wayne, and Jane. Unfortunately a very cold winter got ’em…

      • Aww, thats a shame. If you do it again with fish, keep a hole in the ice. This lets out gases and allows oxygen in. And those names…..so funny! 😀

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Oh, I know about holes in the ice, I did all that…
        I have often tried putting frog spawn in, but I never get frogs – I have tons of beetles, snails, and creepy crawlies though – I like them!…

      • Oh I love them too! I used to play with them as a kid and make all sorts of worlds for them to live in. Even now I lift them out of the way so nobody stands on them. I’m sure I get some strange looks, but who cares, haha!

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Ho ho! Did you have a little beetle and spider village, with houses, and a pub, and a post office?

      • Hahaha! Well I didn’t have a pub, since I was only about 6 or 7 and didn’t know of such things, but I had a school, houses and an adventure park forest thing with a picnic area. I also made a paper boat so they could sail in a puddle, but they weren’t to keen on that, for some reason 😀

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Wow! That all sounds marvellous! What an inventive girl you were! I’m sure the bugs appreciated it!
        When I was that age I think I was aware of those places called pubs, but they seemed like scary smelly places, and I didn’t like the look of ’em.

  3. I like the pond and the consideration for the birds. Making things right has got to start somewhere. I’m not laughing at it, I’m admiring. It can be hard to focus on this, I think. I know. Thank you.

    • Dave Whatt says:

      And thank you Claudia.
      It was great fun watching the birds as they walked round and around the pond, wondering if they could trust the plank – it was about then minutes before they ventured down it.

      • I have a lot of bird attractions in my back yard, not that I know one bird from the other, I just like to watch what they do – I find it very calming with the occasional burst of drama!

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Yes, they are great aren’t they? I had a bird box full of wrens a couple of years ago – super little things wrens.
        Considering the way us humans treat the planet, I’m amazed that we still have birds at all.

      • Yes, I agree. Sometimes we get better than we deserve.

Leave a Reply

