The washed out angel…

But first…
Dulltown, UK*: Today’s architectural term is Reredos – A wall or screen, of wood or stone, rising behind an altar, usually decorated. My reredos had some cherubs painted on it, but I eventually got fed up with their cheeky knowing grins and had them painted out with some cheap white emulsion.

*I wonder if at some point when the UK finally splits up, this heading of mine, which for quite a time had been ‘Dulltown, Europe’, but is now for obvious reasons, ‘Dulltown, UK’, will have to finally become ‘Dulltown, England’?
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN4233Here’s a picture I took last December; it shows the area above the entrance to a closed down nightclub in the centre of Dulltown, Club Heaven and Hell.
I had never been in the club, but I believe that the idea was that there were two main areas you could visit for drinking, dancing, and such jollity: the downstairs one which was Hell, and the upstairs one which was Heaven. I expect the rooms were decorated appropriately and the music was chosen to suit the mood of each. (For me Hell would be Elton John, Cold Play, and Mumford and Sons, but I digress…)
This would have made a pretty boring photograph if it wasn’t for the fact that the poor kindly angel lady has faded away to nothingness in the years of sun and rain, just wisps of her golden locks and a few bits of blue cloud left – whereas her mirror image, Devil Girl has survived virtually unscathed – hm, hardly scathed at all.
Having just typed the word ‘scathed’ I decided to look it up; apparently it means ‘damaged by fire or lightning’. Perhaps D-girl has had a hand in her angelic companion’s demise? Mind you, I can’t imagine them ever getting on, can you? I’ll bet they were always bickering and shouting up and down the stairs…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, architecture, art, design, Dulltown, history, Hull.UK., humour, music, observations, photography, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, weather, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The washed out angel…

  1. Well, I told you the day after the referendum you’d need to get used to “Dulltown, England”. But never mind – next year you can change to “Cultureville, England”! Or we can all move to Scotland.
    The devil is in the detail …

  2. Scotland welcomes everyone, apparently, so you had better get wiggle on before the rest of the world descends on it….

  3. I also see that London are trying to get independence, so I guess you’ll be “Dulltown, Central East England” at some point. Which doesn’t have quite the same ring to it.
    I like Coldplay. Just sayin’….but then I have an eclectic taste in music.
    Also I like the photo – I feel sorry for the wee angel. Although maybe she has gone to do good deeds elsewhere, rather than be sat on a nightclub sign with a smirking devil girl. Must get terribly boring sitting opposite a pouting smirking she-devil day in, day out. 😀

Leave a Reply

