It’s decalcomania time again…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s honoured guests are the King Henry VIII lookalike twins, Vera and Maurice Kumpf. Come on in and sit on your thrones, I hope we’ve made them big enough, you are both so marvellously wide and regal.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Good morning class…
Now, it seems a while since we had a look at one of my old decalcomania monoprints… oh do stop all that groaning… What was that Terry? Monotypes? Yes, of course they can be called that too. By the way, if I see, or hear, any mobile phones during this lecture I will smash them to pieces with this ball pein engineer’s hammer I have brought in specially. Come on, wake up, please pay attention – this print was made in 2010, it is in black acrylic paint on white drawing paper about 16″ x 12″ – No, Neandra I don’t know what that is in metric – just write down 16 by 12 inches…

WP F DSCN4490 16 x 12There we are, now, can you all see this?… What’s that tittering at the back? No, it isn’t a self-portrait… You see, the thing is, because the printing process relies so heavily on chance and serendipity – serendipity Neandra, look it up later – one can feel completely free to do absolutely anything that takes one’s fancy with the paint, even quickly scrawling a silly made up face with one’s forefinger. One can be quite confident that it will not come out on the print looking as one imagined it would.
No, Tucker, as I just said, it isn’t anybody, it’s a made up face – it looks like who?… I don’t care what band he’s in… No, I don’t want to hear a track from the album… press that button and I’ll be over there with my hammer… Thank you!…
What was that Selena? Yes, very good, I suppose it does look like a boxer after a fight doesn’t it? Perhaps I’ll give this print the title ‘Boxing’… Bloody?… Yes… I never really understood all that – why would people like to watch healthy strapping young men deliberately hurting each other in public?… It all seems a bit strange to me. Still, what do I know of such perversions?…
Yes, Charlene – well spotted! I have ‘enhanced’ the print with some pencil shading afterwards – no Neanadra, it’s not ‘cheating’ – it can’t be, you see, there aren’t any rules! No, really class there aren’t – oh dear, you don’t like that do you? Do you find it a bit scary? Oh, you young people, you are so conservative… Hang on… Was that a ring tone I just heard? Was that you Jimmy-Bob?… I can see you stuffing the thing  back in your bag – watch out I’m coming up there now… I love this part of the lecture…

Decalcomania: How to do it.

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, cool, creation, decalcomania, drawing, humour, information, instruction, learning, prints, serendipity, style, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s decalcomania time again…

  1. Oh you would be such a good teacher! And its a really good decalcomania, too – especially with the shading. 🙂

  2. Claudia says:

    Interesting and creative art. I’ve never heard of decalcomania — until now. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

