Surrealism that you want to slide your hand over…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s dictionary words are: bogle, bobstays, bobbery, bohea, bodach, and cock-a-bondy. Please have these words looked up and placed in suitable sentences ready for Professor Mouldie first thing after breakfast tomorrow morning. The professor may be wearing a headset and conducting the lesson from inside a great echoing cathedral, but you must not take advantage of the situation with merry gibes and quips.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN4234Now then, here’s a picture of mine from last December.
‘Is it a puzzle photograph Dave?’
Well, I suppose it could be, but I think we can say that it has a hint of surrealism about it. I wonder if I should tell you what it is, or whether I should just let it hang there in the air being mysterious and annoying for a few moments?
‘What’s that shiny bulbous thing towards the bottom? It makes you want to put your hand out and slide it across that convex, smooth, but slightly dimpled, surface… doesn’t it?…’
Does it?
‘And what about ‘nguishe’? That sounds a bit French or Cantonese to me…’
Hm…

No, you see, this picture was taken as I was lolling on one of the front seats upstairs on a fairly new and stylish double-decker bus heading to Dulltown Minor a few miles north of this fair city. My eye was quickly caught by the word ‘nguishe’ too. The printed sign at some time, before the vandals got at it, obviously used to say Provision For Extinguisher. Why the ne’er-do-wells would just scrape off the ‘Exti’ and the final ‘r’ I can’t imagine. Perhaps they were hoping to form some shocking expletive out of the remaining letters, but soon realised that there wasn’t much on offer linguistically, and quickly gave up – but still, their spirits were probably lifted by a feeling of something accomplished having just spoiled it.
How about composition? I did my usual trick of putting the interesting thing well out of the way up in the corner, for the viewer to ‘find’ – not that it needs much finding. The grey plastic panelling, and that sneaking worm-like sealing strip in the foreground do look suitably intriguing and tempting though don’t they?…
Hm… on the whole, I’m glad I bothered getting my camera out for it…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, composition, Dulltown, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, photography, puzzle, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Surrealism that you want to slide your hand over…

  1. Yes, I like this. Its very minimalist, with an intriguing twist at the top in the form of the letters. (Or lack of). My first impression was that is said “Provision for anguish” and that made me think of an anxiety box, or a worry box that someone could privately vent their daily angst into. And that surface looks very tactile, soothing actually. For those with anguish in their mind. 😀

Leave a Reply

