Some smallish items…

But First…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s Jean-Paul Sartre quotation is from Nausea (1938):
Over New York the sky is burning, the blue of the sky has caught fire, huge yellow flames are licking the roofs; the Brooklyn children are going to stand in bathing trunks under jets of hose pipes. The dark room on the twentieth floor is baking hot. The American with the black eyebrows sighs, pants and the sweat rolls down his cheeks. He is sitting in shirtsleeves at his piano: he has a taste of smoke in his mouth and, vaguely, a ghost of a tune in his head. ‘Some of these days.’
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 300.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I got to chatting with Cortana. (C)

A single overheard remark:
‘If you can think of a tune without having to tense…’

I’m thinking of having some t-shirts printed with ‘Hull – UK City of Embarrassment 2017‘.

An observation:
Oh look, there’s Andy Warhol getting on the bus to Thorngumbald – gosh, he looks very pale doesn’t he?… (T)

As I walked down the street where I live yesterday afternoon I happened to glance down a narrow access road off to one side and saw a scruffy-looking smoking man with some kind of thick-set big-headed dog on a chain. He was standing, allowing, and possibly encouraging it to enthusiastically rip to shreds a brown leather sofa that someone had dumped there. I suppose this is what you’d call ‘local colour’…

I’m thinking of changing my name to Hugh Jim Portance.

‘Today is like a very large cup…’
‘Eh? A large cup?’
‘Well, maybe a mug then…’
‘Ah, it’s muggy?’
‘Yes, that’s it!…’

The three ways of saying ‘See you later’:
1) The ‘normal’ way where the ‘t’ in ‘later’ is sounded properly.
2) By people who think they will appear more cool by the adoption of a slightly American sounding accent and pronounce the ‘t’ as a soft ‘d’. (This makes me squirm and my toes start to curl in my shoes.)
3) As we say it here in Dulltown with a nice glottal stop instead of the ‘t’ – la’er. (GS)

An observation:
Today all the clouds look like either cabbages or door knobs.

A single overheard remark:
‘He didn’t know that we are all inclusive

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in books, brain, conversation, cool, drama, Dulltown, existentialism, Hull.UK., humour, information, misheard, observations, overheard, people, reading, serendipity, style, surrealism, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Some smallish items…

  1. I love the glottal stop “later” because I hear the same “t” sound around me in Philadelphia – the word I associate it with is related to iced tea, as to whether you want it swee’ened or unswee’ened…

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Well, that’s interesting. I’ve never thought of it existing in American English. I can’t imagine what it sounds like, except perhaps imagining Dick Van Dyke doing cockney or Yorkshire… or Scottish… Ho ho!…

      • I hear it in all kinds of words here (I am not a native Philadelphian, just lived here for 35+ years, so my Tennessee accent leads to a whole other linguistic destination) so I think it’s part of our accent. Another local characteristic is words such as “attitude”; a true Philadelphia says “attitude”. I find myself doing it. You can become a native of a place if you want to enough, maybe? I’m living proof.

      • Dave Whatt says:

        “A’itude”?…

      • No, on this one you get the full benefit of the t’s, with a very t sound.

      • Dave Whatt says:

        I’ve heard “a’itude” regularly here, especially with London people.

Leave a Reply

