Spatter Painting No. 30…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s carefully selected adjectives are: crispy, scrumptious, twinkling, hieratic, owlish, innumerable, and waspish.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
It seems a while, dear reader, since I forced you to look at one of those ‘spatter paintings’ I made a few months ago – gosh they were fun to do!
Here is another one – I hope it is monumental, dramatic, and spattery enough for you:

Spatter 30 (29 x 21)Spatter Painting No. 30. (2016) Acrylic paint and black ink on paper about 29″ x 21″.

Hm… gorgeous!…
I’ll bet you are wondering how I managed to achieve those two roughly geometric, fairly paint-free areas in the middle of all that dribbling, running and spattering.
I simply had the paper lying flat on a drawing board, and before I started flinging paint around the place, I masked a couple of areas off using whatever was to hand – in this case a round metal pie dish (no, dear reader, I don’t make my own pies) and a rectangular piece of thickish plywood from my little workshop.
I think it would have looked silly (It already is silly Dave!) if the masking had been perfect, with clean crisp edges between paint and clean paper, but fortunately Nature and Serendipity, those two great artist’s assistants, intervened and allowed the sloppy paint to seep and insinuate itself under the masks, and also when I later carefully lifted the masks off, they happily encouraged a few wayward droplets to land on the previously masked areas… Thank you N & S! That does look much better.
Hm… What do you think of it? Is this an ‘attractive’ and ‘worthwhile’ piece of work, or is it just a mess?… Any good artist must seriously consider both possibilities you know…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, composition, creation, humour, information, instruction, learning, painting, serendipity, style, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spatter Painting No. 30…

  1. Oh I like this! It looks like someone wearing a mask….y’know, if you imagine eyes, and green spiky hair 😀 Or a scuba mask thing with the (blue) pipes going up towards the surface! So many ways to interpret it. I did a swirl painting the other day, want to see? https://scribbleartie.wordpress.com/2016/07/21/purple-abstract-swirl/

Leave a Reply

