Dave dips into nature…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s instruction is to go out and buy the biggest and silliest hat that you can find and swank around town for an hour or two in it, waving to strangers and whistling a merry tune as you go.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN4203Yes, I know – this photo isn’t my style at all – I don’t really do ‘nature’…
I took this last December; I was walking into town using the slightly longer route that runs by the side of the great filthy road that attracts large lorries (trucks) and anything else that might be tear-arsing along heading to the Dulltown docks in the east. I seem to remember when Dulltown’s motto was Gateway to Europe… Hm, suppose it still could be…
I think this might be one of my, Is this picture boring or not? dilemmas. I think any decent artist must question his/her art, and wonder what his/her audience will make of their creation.
After all, this is just a bit of a tree, one of several trees which were obviously planted in an attempt to screen off the view of the ghastly road from the nearby housing estate. I don’t know what kind of tree it is, but it does have a lot of nice mossy lichen mouldy cruddy stuff clinging to it doesn’t it? The colours are quite eye-catching though – I think I can safely say that this photograph is all about colour and texture – oh dear that sounds so pissy and arty-farty, a bit like something from one of those artists’ statements that you see pinned to the white-painted walls of small galleries – after witnessing myself type those words colour and texture, I’m almost thinking of deleting the thing, and putting something else up, perhaps something brash, surreal and upsetting – that’s more my style!
Oh… but I don’t seem to have anything to hand at present… Oh bugger, this will have to do… Enjoy my muted winter shades and hues dear reader…
Oh, and please don’t you dare get in touch to tell me what kind of tree it is…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, composition, creation, Dulltown, expletives, history, Hull.UK., humour, information, instruction, observations, photography, seeing, serendipity, style, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dave dips into nature…

  1. You’ll be doing flowers next ……

  2. I really like this shot, and you must have too, otherwise you wouldn’t have taken it. Its very symmetrical which I like today, and the colours – oh the pretty colours! So yes, a pleasing shot, not jarring on the eye. Also the hat idea is very amusing – I might get my large straw hat with the ribbons and feathers out and wear it – when the rain stops. 😀

Leave a Reply

