Three sculptures and a drawing…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s weather will feature: sky high slips of blue ribbon plaited through pale grey dough pastry, cheeky sparrows wearing little raincoats, and spherical droplets of crystal purity landing in slow motion on deep lush waving grass.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

The drawing was clipped to a thin black-painted piece of plywood just so that I could keep an eye on it – and be critical of it, and occasionally admire it, before it went off into the bulging folder with all the others.
Now, where to put it so that it will catch my eye when I’m in the living room; ah, how about on that funny low shelf thing that used to be part of my music recording set up, which now has three of my (recently dusted) sculptures on it?… There!…
Oh, that looks quite good! Perhaps I should take a photo of the ensemble – I like the way the sculpture shapes seem to go with those in the drawing – I suppose they would though, they all came out of the same head… Mine…

DSCN4589I’ll bet you are wondering what that little cardboard figure is doing – he is there, of course, to give some sense of proportion. It’s always handy having a recognisably human-sized object included in a picture of an artwork – you get a better appreciation of scale.
Is that little chap me, do you think?
Yes, I suppose he is, he does look a bit like me. You see, eventually, when I’m extremely rich and famous I’ll have these sculptures scaled up to very large and made in bronze or sheet steel or something.
Back when I used to design theatre sets for a living, the directors always wanted little models made of how it would all look when the scenery was eventually built and set up. (Theatre directors, in my experience, have virtually no visual sense whatsoever – with them it’s all words, pensive posing, shouting, gestures, and actors wandering about the stage for no apparent reason – and invariably tripping over the furniture and props.) So, when I made my set model for them (usually of cereal packet cardboard) I would always include one or two cut-out human figures like the one above, little actors, with weighted bases that could be moved about the tiny stage like chessmen, to make it easier for the director to ‘block’ the scenes – I think that is the correct term. (B)
The sculptures are untitled; the drawing must have a title, but at the moment I’m afraid I can’t remember what it is…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, creation, design, drama, drawing, humour, information, sculpture, seeing, style, surrealism, theatre, weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Three sculptures and a drawing…

  1. Wow! Now although I do like your drawing a lot,(very Miro-esque) I am more enamoured with your sculptures – are they cardboard? They are fabulous! How are they weighted, because they look heavy? The little cardboard man seems a little bit anxious being overshadowed by these huge things, but I’m thinking he should be in the drawing, looking over the vast Miro style landscape. 😀

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Ahoy my dear Scribbler!
      Thank you! The sculptures are made from hardwood, (iroko?) and are painted black, and they are quite weighty.
      I love Miro by the way – I saw a great show of his stuff at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park a few years back.

      • Oooh! I am so envious – I would love to go see something like that. I also love Miro, as well as Kandinsky, and Dubuffet. As far as your sculptures go, I thank you for the interesting information – I had no idea what iroko was so looked it up. I do hope for your sake its just regular hardwood….. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iroko. Meanwhile I am inspired to try my hand at a cardboard construction, heh! 😀

      • Dave Whatt says:

        No, I had no idea what iroko was before I was given a big chunk of it – It used to be some friends of mine’s kitchen worktop – it ended up as five or six smallish sculptures…
        Cardboard is great – it’s the shapes that count – the material they are made of is unimportant.

Leave a Reply

