A pause in the design…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s zebra is the spotted one.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN4614So anyway, about six or seven months ago I decided, in a rare burst of optimism, that I really should do some more lino printing; I opened an A4 drawing pad, popped a piece of lino on a clean page, and drew round it with a pen. I put the pad with the rectangle showing on the kitchen table so that I would see it every day in passing to encourage me to make a start. Well, I have glanced at it every day and, of course, I have ignored it.
However, (isn’t ‘however’ a useful word?) – however, yesterday for some unknown reason I picked it up, and in between mouthfuls of tinned mackerel on toast, with an ancient episode of Time Team playing on the TV, I started to do some faint (and easily erasable) doodling and sketching of some ideas to go on it.
I fancied having crisp black and white stripes – I had recently seen online a very nice Edward Wadsworth print of a ‘dazzle camouflage‘ WWII ship. I soon sorted out a design, mine would be a sort of strange ‘landscape’, and I began filling in the black areas with 8B pencils  (8B pencils are the equivalent of 82% cocoa in the world of chocolate!)
I think what I’ll do when the design is done is to tape it to the lino with a piece of carbon paper under it and transfer it through with a ballpoint pen – the final image when printed will of course be reversed, but after holding the paper up to the light and looking at the back, I reckon the image will work equally well either way round.
As my neighbour was about to visit to drill holes in some pieces of metal in my little workshop, and later watch a documentary with me about crazy religious people searching for the Ark of the Covenant, I paused in my shading and put the pad and the pencils on the old wooden chair by the window.
Oh, look, that’s nice… my half-done stripes seem to relate to the vertical slats on the back of the chair – perhaps a photo might be a good idea – then I can post it on my blog and write some guff about it in the morning…
It’s a nice chair isn’t it, it’s old, but not valuable, I think it might be American – I keep seeing similar ones on US TV detective shows – you get fat sweaty tobacco-chewing Southern Sheriffs lolling in them, and they seem popular in courtrooms for the jurors at murder trials to sit on…
I’ll be sure to show you one of these prints when they are done.

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, composition, creation, design, drawing, humour, information, photography, prints, seeing, serendipity, style, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A pause in the design…

  1. Now of all the things I have tried, Lino cuts (I wrote Lioncuts, first, ha!) are not on the list. I find this process fascinating, and appreciate you writing the method. I would love to see these when they are done! I also adore the WIP shot on the chair – lovely old chair too, bet that takes some polishing….. 😀

Leave a Reply

