One or two short items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s random dictionary words are: flote, floccus, floscule, flota, flittern, flimp, and basipetal.
Please have these words looked up and placed in suitable sentences ready for Professor Mouldie first thing after breakfast tomorrow morning. Before the lesson, all fingernails will be examined by Mrs Mouldie and points will be awarded or deducted at her discretion.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 303.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I had chimps hanging on my rafters.

A single overheard remark:
‘She had intimate red…’

I was at school with Pablo Picasso, he was very nice, in geometry class he used to lend me his French curves… (FC)

Yesterday in the art gallery there was an old chap complaining to one of the attendants about a bee buzzing round the paintings. I heard him say that he was worried in case it set off one of the alarms. I think the old fellow was just a bit lonely and wanted someone to talk to – that’ll be me in a year or two…

Yes, I’m thinking of changing my name to Hugh Jimpact.

‘So, what did you do today?’
‘Well, I sat for a couple of hours listening to other people’s conversations and their phone calls, smelling their perfume and their aftershave, watching them eat snack food from bright packets and drink liquids from tins, observing their inadequate child rearing skills and…’
‘Ah, you’ve been on a train journey then?’
‘Hm…’

Now then, what’s this? Ah, it’s a piece of spam just arrived in my comments box; it seems to be from someone called Wholesale Jerseys:
may offer them free gifts as well as gifts to your regular visitor. He was very / New England Patriots. Wes Welker / New York Jets, Shonn Green / Denver Broncos, Champ Sports Conference members. One team was would build for themselves. The tone can set with a reaction to just one play. “well,
Well, thank you Wholesale Jerseys I will certainly bear in mind what you have said, and I hope to hear from you again soon.

‘So, how was the bus journey?’
‘It was fine… except maybe for the old chap sitting opposite.’
‘Oh?…’
‘Yes, every few minutes he looked around the bus and whispered, ‘Strange… strange…’
‘To himself?’
‘Yes…’
‘Strange…’
‘Indeed…’

A single overheard remark:
‘I might have run to you getting off Brian…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, conversation, dreaming, Dulltown, existentialism, food, Grumpiness, Hull.UK., humour, information, misheard, observations, overheard, people, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One or two short items…

  1. Those French Curves fascinate me – what are they used for? (And don’t say drawing curves!) I mean, did you use them in Theatre design or something? They all look so different, so I’m a bit confuddled. I felt a bit sorry for the guy in the museum…..up here, older single gentlemen always seem to have little dogs. And public transport always brings out the best in people, don’t you think….?!

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Well, I was going to say “drawing curves”, but, even though I have rarely used them, I reckon they are for designing things which need curves that are not parts of circles or ellipses – I’ll bet people who design sports cars have a set of them.
      ‘Public transport brings out the best in people’ – Hm… not in my experience…

Leave a Reply

