11 Responses to Uncle Dave’s guitar club…

  1. Oh CND, gosh the memories! I did a few protests in my time, I can tell you! Last one was the Iraq march, but then I realised I was wasting my time. Anyway, I digress. Guitars! Yes, well not that I know so much about them (apart from having one of my own), but the same attitude does pervade the art & craft world, don’t you think? As in “I can’t paint/make stuff because I don’t have *insert brand name*. Its plain snootiness, in my opinion. The value is in the thing you create, whether its music, art, or whatever. What tools you use is immaterial….. now where did I put my cigar box guitar, hmmm….

    • Dave Whatt says:

      The Iraq march – good for you!
      I was going to put a paragraph in the post about photographers who have no imagination, but buy very expensive cameras and lenses and swagger about with them, but I thought that post was getting a bit too long so I cut it. Still, I have mentioned it now – thank you dear Scribbler.

      • Oh gosh! No, you are absolutely right to mention the stupidity of snobby photographers. They are mostly middle aged men working a 4o hour week in offices, with 2.4 kids and a tidy back garden. But mention photography, and they drone on endlessly about tools, kit, lenses, F.stops, apertures, bags and god knows whatever else. Don’t dare to mention a lovely shot taken with a point’n’shoot, and heaven forbid the little camera on a phone. The derision they pour upon a gentle soul is quite astounding……..! Blithering idiots. πŸ˜€

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Sound’s like you have met a few of them… Blithering indeed!
        Do I detect a slight note of anger in your writing dear Scribbler?…

      • Lets just say I joined a photography group some time last year. And lets just say I left fairly quickly……!

      • Dave Whatt says:

        A photography group? Oh dear, you poor thing!…

      • Aye, well it seemed like a good idea at the time. Never mind, if everyone were the same, it would be a very boring world πŸ˜€

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Of course they should be called a ‘Camera Group’ or ‘Equipment Group’… Or, ‘How to do a long exposure of a waterfall to make the water blurred so that it looks like all the others that are on Flickr – Group.’ Bah!…

      • Hrmph, should be called The “Mine is bigger and better than yours, so there” Group. I don’t like groups. Too cliquish. I prefer Societies…. πŸ˜€

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Oh, societies?… Hm…

      • Kidding. I’m an introvert, I don’t like large gatherings of people πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

