Mail Art Postcard No. 4527…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s quotation is from Jean-Paul Sartre’s novel Nausea (1938):
I withdraw my hand, I put it in my pocket. But straight away, through the material, I feel the warmth of my thigh. I promptly make my hand jump out of my pocket; I let it hang against the back of the chair. Now I feel its weight at the end of my arm. It pulls a little, not very much, gently, softly, it exists.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

…and after that, I think we should have a look at one of my mail art postcards:

WP F 4527Yes, a simple collage on fluorescent card using snippets from that awful TV listings magazine What’s On TV.
It’s says it’s a TOP Real Life PICK, I don’t know what that means, but I do seem to recognise the chap on the left, I’m pretty sure he is a member of the British Royal Family, I try not to follow such trivia, but I think he might be His Royal Highness The Prince Charles Philip Arthur George, Prince of Wales, Duke of Cornwall, Duke of Rothesay, Earl of Carrick, Earl of Chester, Baron of Renfrew, Lord of the Isles, Prince and Great Steward of Scotland, Royal Knight Companion of the Most Noble Order of the Garter… or, as I once accidentally referred to him, Chince Prarles.
I expect that posh and very happy lady to the right is his current wife – I’m afraid I can’t recall her name – good hat though, or is that her hair?…

‘Good morning Your Royal Highness, and which persona will you be adopting today? Lord of the Isles perhaps?…’
‘Just shut up and get my bloody tea and toast, you peasant!…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, books, brain, existentialism, fashion, humour, information, Mail Art, postcards, reading, serendipity, surrealism, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mail Art Postcard No. 4527…

  1. memadtwo says:

    Much better than her usual smile. Camilla, I believe she’s called.

  2. I agree with the above comment – such a cheery smile as opposed to her usual dour grimace. Spoonerism is what that “Chince Prarles”is called. Very amusing affliction, in the right company 🙂 Oh and that quotation at the beginning, poor chap having a little obsession with his hand.

Leave a Reply

