Some overheard and misheard snatches of cafe conversation…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s quotation is from Flann O’Brien’s novel The Third Policeman, written in the early 1940s, but not published until 1967 after the author’s death.
‘There now,’ said MacCruiskeen.
‘It is nearly too nice,’ I said at last, ‘to talk about it.’
‘I spent two years manufacturing it when I was a lad,’ said MacCruiskeen, ‘and it still takes me to the fair.’
‘It is unmentionable,’ I said.
‘Very nearly,’ said MacCruiskeen.
The two of us started looking at it and we looked at it for five minutes so hard that it seemed to dance on the table and look even smaller than it might be.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

‘A fammel on the Tuesday?’
‘I go to the bank with bag feet…’
‘A large G&T and half a bottle of wine.’
‘Anna coming up hiding in a car park Mark?…’
‘A pizza onto him, the wrist!…’
‘A Tokyo thumb reaction Davina?’
‘We never queue – new girlfriend – Russian jet.’
‘Move the table Peter, move the table!…’
‘The Lords of Asia, can’t bear them!’
‘A terror mile foam, a sanction duck.’
‘The right thing to do is even worse!’
‘Cock teeth decoy intelligence?’
‘Better go home! Drop the iciness Mark!…’
‘I left my frigging bucket out!’
‘No, from the beginning, from the beginning.’
‘Twenty-seven things, backpack whatever!…’
‘Better get Riggy a butane outfit then.’
‘Miss-muss, miss-muss, miss-muss.’
‘Boka-dilly tomma tomma!’
‘Corridor reading, the days are like dicular!’
‘I think I get a waste pipe.’
‘Dept nacre, then he looks like Melvin.’
‘The full moggie?…’

For some sort of explanation of this you might like to look at an earlier post. (Click)

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in books, brain, cafe, conversation, cool, existentialism, Hull.UK., humour, information, mind, overheard, people, poetry, reading, serendipity, surrealism, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Some overheard and misheard snatches of cafe conversation…

  1. Are supposed to guess what the two were looking at on the table? Has the fair got anything to do with it, or is that just way of saying the *thing* makes him happy? Hmm, I must go and think about this. And “Boka-dilly tomma tomma has a nice tune to it if you repeat it a lot. (Oh the things we do on a Sunday afternoon….!)

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Ah, Sunday afternoons!
      Right then. I’m sure the ‘fair’ reference is, as you say, an Irish phrase meaning to make very happy.
      As for the ‘thing’ on the table, I’m not saying, but it is the start of one of my all-time favourite pieces of writing and imagination.
      Tomma tomma boka-boka!…

  2. Dana Doran says:

    Four hours after reading….I find myself back here confessing that I am looking for the occasion to use the word “dicular”….it seems the right thing to do…and perhaps the best way to communicate with a few millennials I come in contact with ….who use words like “boojie” the connotation of which is contrary to the bourgeois? do they know what they’re talking about? ah nevermind!

Leave a Reply

