The new lino print…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s 19th c. Cockney expletive is, ‘Well, I wish my bloody eyes may drop out!’ Hm, very colourful… I don’t think I’ll bother trying to bring that one back into use.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN4623Well here it is, my latest linocut on nice Kizuki Japanese paper (roughly A4 size), one print of an edition of 12. You may have looked at two earlier posts of mine on this subject, the first showing the half-completed original pencil drawing sitting on an old oak chair, and the second showing the lino block half chopped out with a few tools scattered around it.
‘Hell Dave, was this worth all that effort?…’ I hear some mean-spirited person at the back of my mind ask – but yes, I think it was… anyway, it kept me busy for a few hours and stopped me thinking too much…
Is this an abstract piece of work? Well, probably not, it seems to have the feel of a landscape about it, don’t you think? Perhaps this image could be on the cover of some bad science fiction novel?…
Is this Surrealism? Possibly, I like to think of myself as a Surrealist, and even maybe a ‘Vorticist‘ – yes, I think I’d like to be known as a Vorticist, hardly anyone has heard of those…
‘Are those round ‘spots’ in the ‘sky’ supposed to be stars Dave?’
‘Probably…’ Dave replies, being non-committal and deliberately mysterious…

DSCN4620

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, creation, design, drawing, expletives, humour, information, lino cut printing, lino printing, prints, style, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The new lino print…

  1. Ooh thats very nice! Sharp and clean. I haven’t heard of Vorticism before, so I followed your link. There is some lovely work, and its shame that the movement didn’t catch on. Its slightly too busy for me, though, personally – all those lines, angles, and heavy contrasting colours make me squint, haha! Yours is quite minimalist though, and yes, landscapey. The sun shines over buildings and one roof has blown off in the wind. Southern wind (little arrow compass point up there), and not stars so much as rain, perhaps? (completely unsolicited interpretation, sorry!) So are you doing some more then or moving onto something else?

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Well, thank you for the interpretation – gosh, one never knows what people will make of one’s work does one?…
      Yes, I have already started the next linocut – I often go for months without doing lino, or spatters, or decalcomania, and then suddenly I do a series of them, until I finally get bored with ’em…

  2. Dana Doran says:

    Hum…I do think this piece is a little like lying on your back on the lawn, staring up at the clouds and imagining dragons……but clearly I see a chicken crossing the road….what a sense of humor you have!

Leave a Reply

